Evernight Shade

Oracle Text

B: Evernight Shade gets +1/+1 until end of turn.

Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a +1/+1 counter on it.)

Card Rulings

5/1/2012 Evernight Shade’s ability doesn’t put +1/+1 counters on it; it just gives Evernight Shade +1/+1 until end of turn. If Evernight Shade has no +1/+1 counters on it and dies after its ability has resolved, undying will still return it to the battlefield.