Draining Whelk

Oracle Text

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)


When Draining Whelk enters the battlefield, counter target spell. Put X +1/+1 counters on Draining Whelk, where X is that spell's converted mana cost.

Card Rulings

9/25/2006 If the triggered ability doesn’t resolve (the targeted spell becomes an illegal target, for example), Draining Whelk doesn’t get any +1/+1 counters.
10/15/2006 If the triggered ability doesn’t counter the spell (if it is, for example, uncounterable), Draining Whelk still gets the counters.