Fortune Thief

Oracle Text

Damage that would reduce your life total to less than 1 reduces it to 1 instead.

Morph RR (You may cast this card face down as a 2/2 creature for 3. Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

Card Rulings

3/16/2018 Fortune Thief’s effect applies only if your life total is being reduced by damage. Other effects or costs (such as losing or paying life) can reduce your life total below 1 as normal.
3/16/2018 Fortune Thief’s effect is not a prevention effect. It stops unpreventable damage from reducing your life total below 1.
3/16/2018 Fortune Thief doesn’t change how much damage is dealt; it just changes how much life that damage makes you lose. Abilities such as lifelink will see the full amount of damage being dealt.
3/16/2018 Fortune Thief won’t prevent you from losing the game if your life total becomes 0 or less or if some other effect causes you to lose the game.
3/16/2018 If your life total is less than 1 but you’ve somehow avoided losing the game, Fortune Thief’s effect won’t apply at all if you’re dealt damage.