Quote from benbuzz790 »State-based effects - the legend rule in this case. I was implying that it died before you chose targets (i.e, it's in the graveyard when you choose what creature to bring back) because it dies to state based effects. Now that I think about it though... I might not be right.
Edit: checked with the rules guys - it works.
Quote from benbuzz790 »Just throwing this out there - Phyrexian metamorph + Sharuum the Hegemon + Grand Architect makes infinite mana -- Sharuum etb targets metamorph, metamorph copies sharuum, SBA kills the original, metamorph's trigger targets sharuum, sharuum comes back, SBA's kill metamorph, and now you're back where you started... except between the triggers resolving you've tapped morph and sharuum each for 2 mana! I'm not quite sure what you do with all that artifact only mana, but I wanted to throw it out there.
This might be a little better than pili-pala because you actually want to play sharuum and metamorph in your deck, and both are good without the combo.