2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Eldrazi and Sunburst?
    @Shadowclaimer: I agree, it's a little wordy, but I was trying to convey the idea of "he gets stronger if he consumes different types of mana". That said, the Sunburst/Annihilator X are pretty strong. I would be hesitant to just make him indestructible, so I would probably remove that, but he could have trample w/o any extra hoops.

    @HotChocolate: Yeah, I hadn't really done much playtesting w/ it, so wasn't exactly sure how to cost him, but I do think that 10 would work, especially if I remove the wordiness of his middle ability and just give him trample or something. Balancing his P/T with his CMC was a little tough, as he would be pretty underwhelming if you only used 1 or 2 types of mana on him, but in that case, I don't think he would really belong in your deck anyways. At 10 mana, I feel that having an 11/11 trample annihilator 5 can be pretty rough.

    I was also trying to play around with the "he gets more abilities w/ more counters in case you could find another way to add counters to him (such as with proliferate), so that he ends up even better without necessarily having to wait until you can set up all your mana or cast him with Fist of Suns for maximum potential.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Industrialize, Bloodsire Count, Empathic Hydra
    Quote from Mirari
    Haven't done cards in a while. Here's some older ones I liked:

    Industrialize
    :1mana::symu:
    Enchantment - Aura (U)
    Enchant land
    Whenever enchanted land is tapped for mana, it produces 2 mana instead of its normal type and amount.

    Bloodsire Count :2mana::symb::symb:
    Creature - Vampire (R)
    Bloodsire Count gets +1/+1 for each other Vampire creature you control.
    :symb::symb:, :symtap:: Gain control of target creature if its power is less than or equal to Bloodsire Count's power. That creature becomes a Vampire in addition to its other types.
    2/2

    Empathic Hydra :xmana::symg::symg:
    Creature - Hydra (R)
    Empathic Hydra enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it.
    Whenever you or Empathic Hydra are dealt damage, put that many +1/+1 counters on Empathic Hydra.
    0/0


    I also like Industrialize, either in red or blue. I also really like the Bloodsire Count, but agree that it seems contradictory to tap a huge creature. What if he tapped another Vampire, but could only be used once per turn? Also, I like the idea that he is overpowering things, so I feel that it would be better if it was only creatures that are explicitly weaker than he is. Something like:

    Bloodsire Count :2mana::symb::symb:
    Creature - Vampire (R)
    Bloodsire Count gets +1/+1 for each other Vampire creature you control.
    :symb::symb:, tap another untapped Vampire you control: Gain control of target creature if its power is less than Bloodsire Count's power. That creature becomes a Vampire in addition to its other types. Use this ability only once per turn.
    2/2
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Eldrazi and Sunburst?
    So, I was thinking about how Eldrazi devour planes, and was wondering if the fact that they devour different colors of mana could be relevant, while retaining their colorless identity? With that in mind, I was envisioning this could look like:

    Goramol, Devourer of Mana 11
    Legendary Creature - Eldrazi (M)
    Sunburst
    Annihilator X, where X is the number of +1/+1 counters on Goramol
    Goramol has trample as long as he has 3 or more +1/+1 counters and is indestructible as long as he has 5 or more +1/+1 counters.
    When Goramol is put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner shuffles his or her graveyard into his or her library.
    6/6

    Thoughts? I'm not 100% sure on the templating for his +1/+1 counter conditional abilities, and I'm not exactly sure how to set his p/t based on the quantity of counters he may or may not have. Is this too good/not good enough?
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on The new Ninjas got me thinking...
    Quote from viridiancircle
    I actually quite like it, though I wonder why this card, which can pop out other ninjas, needs to be able to return to your hand. I'd prefer to see that ability on another ninja.


    My main concern is that if you have access to a lot of mana, this guy allows you to dump a ton of extra ninjas onto the board. You ninjutsu him in, and he brings another ninja in with him. Then you ninjutsu another ninja in his place. Then you ninjutsu him in again, and pull another ninja in too! Each recursion of this places an extra unblocked attacking creature onto the battlefield. I'm not exactly sure how often this would happen, but I figured it was worth mentioning.

    Also, I think it is very important that he can bounce himself back to your hand. Since he can only bring extra ninjas along when he enters the battlefield attacking, having a way to bounce him that does not rely on other cards is very useful (and appropriate as a rare). Also, this way you can bounce him when he's blocked, and then ninjutsu him right back in if you have another unblocked creature for extra fun! This guy is seriously wacky, but in a really cool way! Smile
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Explore
    Quote from viridiancircle
    I don't get the flavour behind card C, and surely Frenzied Tilling is good enough card advantage without the need for a cantrip?


    It's not Frenzied Tilling, though. Tilling allows you to search for a land, while this does not. I'd say that it makes sense to me, and that the card would be much weaker if it didn't draw a card, as otherwise you would only play it if you happened to already have a land card in your hand that you weren't able to play this turn. The card draw makes the "extra land" clause much more relevant later in the game when you probably aren't holding onto a fistful of lands. That said, the card doesn't really feel blue to me, since this is pretty much a combination of Stone Rain and Explore. Green can draw cards in certain contexts, and I feel this is an appropriate one to do so without using blue as a crutch.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Angel of Glory's Rise + Elesh Norn
    Fiend Hunter's triggered ability will not be able to exile Elesh Norn in time to save your other humans. As the Angel's ability resolves, it brings all your humans back, but before Fiend Hunter's triggered ability goes on the stack, the Angel's ability has to finish resolving and then state based actions are checked. This will see a bunch of humans that have 0 or less toughness and knock them all back into the graveyard.

    Then both players will have a chance to react to Fiend Hunter's ability, and assuming no other shenanigans, Elesh Norn will be exiled, long after all your other humans have gone back into your graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Mindbreak Trap + Responding to Resolved Effects
    Quote from Rveniss
    Yea, Mimic Vat is the third spell he's cast this turn. As soon as it's put onto the stack as a spell and you've received priority, you can counter it with Mindbreak Trap for free. Nothing else gets countered, as nothing else is on the stack.

    You're overcomplicating things; Mindbreak Trap doesn't care about how many spells have resolved, only how many have been cast. NO player can do anything while a spell is resolving.


    You're oversimplifying things. Mindbreak Trap does not counter Mimic Vat, it exiles it. This is relevant for two reasons:

    1) It goes into exile instead of the graveyard
    2) If an effect would otherwise make Mimic Vat uncounterable (or Mindbreak Trap were targeting something like Terra Stomper, it would not matter, as Mindbreak Trap is not actually countering the spell.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on [M13] Name and Number Crunch (complete)
    Quote from vegeta50024
    I left some room in case there were some other multicolored cards that we weren't expecting. I was honestly disappointed to see that Nicol Bolas was right after the last green card. I would have at least thought they'd print Lightning Helix, but sadly, they didn't.


    I would expect Lightning Helix to be reprinted in RTR, to be honest, not in the core set. It would make more sense to me, since Ravnica is the only set it's been printed in that isn't a special promotion or multiplayer format.

    If it were in the core set, I would have expected it to be flavorfully tied in with Ajani, but since he is mono-W in this set, it might confuse the core set theme to have a mono planeswalker w/ a corresponding multi color spell.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Predator Ooze question
    Quote from CheeseB
    Oh, I see. That makes sense now. Thanks!


    No worries! The original question was a little unclear, and it doesn't hurt to answer it in both scenarios where the ooze is the target and where its victim is the target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Predator Ooze question
    Quote from CheeseB
    So if the only cards/effects in play are Predator Ooze targeted by a Pillar of Flame, would the Ooze remain on the battlefield? (Assuming it had 1 or less +1/+1 counters on it, of course)


    Yes. The Predator Ooze will be sitting there as a 1/1 or 2/2 with 2 damage marked on it, but since it is indestructible, it won't die. If someone manages to reduce its toughness below zero or force its controller to sacrifice it, then it will be exiled, but if neither of those things happen, the ooze will just sit there.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Predator Ooze question
    I believe that in this scenario, the Pillar of Flame is being used to exile the creature that the ooze whacked in combat to prevent it from getting a counter, not to try to take out the ooze itself.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on [M13] Talrand, Sky Summoner, Serra Avatar etc
    Quote from Dr. Jeebus
    I did a double take when I saw the avatar cause I thought it said rare. This is ABSOLUTELY a mythic, and also happens to be my favourite card of all time. The notion that a potentially 20/20 or higher creature for 7 does not feel mythic is absurd. And if it had lifelink built in, it would never see print. You clearly have no idea how powerful doubling your life every turn guaranteed is.


    Don't forget that in this scenario where the Serra Avatar has built-in lifelink, you are not only doubling your life total, but also doubling her power/toughness every turn. That is ridiculously unprintable.

    Also it would be a super easy 2-card win combo with any of Test of Endurance, Felidar Sovereign or Mayael's Aria. Drop one of these cards, drop Serra Avatar, attack 2 or 3 times and win regardless of what your opponent's life total is (even if she comes down when you're at 5 or 6 life).
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Suspended spells + Teferi
    Quote from reyesryanmjaube
    Will the suspended cards pop out if Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir is in play on my opponent's side?


    No, they will not. Teferi says "You can only cast spells when you could cast a sorcery." Suspend will try to play a spell during your upkeep, and Teferi will not allow it, so your spell will stay in exile.

    EDIT: Even if you were somehow able to get Suspend to cast a spell outside of your upkeep, Teferi still would not allow it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Few newbie questions
    No, I meant that I was nitpicking the difference between a step and a phase. There is a very big difference between the untap step and upkeep step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Few newbie questions
    Quote from Bones211
    it's uptapping during the Untap Phase not upkeep


    Nitpicking, but similar to what epeeguy said, there is no "Untap Phase". The Untap step is rolled into the Beginning Phase along with the Upkeep step and the Draw step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.