2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Oubliette Reprint & Change in Function
    Animate Dead is a reasonable comparison. It seems that the word/character count for the two are just different enough to allow for that to be reprinted. Animate Dead has 75 words, 440 characters, and 3 paragraphs. Oubliette has 76 words,, 435 characters, and 2 paragraphs. Likely it is the letters themselves that post a problem since they are pretty close. That is, an 'i' takes up much less space than a 'w' for example.

    They have also commented on the idea that reprinting in other languages is a problem. Sure, they might get things to fit onto the cards for English, but the translations may be even longer and cause problems. According to Scryfall, Animated Dead in Eternal Masters was printed in 3 languages. Oubliette is available in 5 languages so perhaps one of those becomes a problem when translated.

    I don't think there is anything problematic with the current wording. I also don't think there is anything problematic with the new wording. At best, the old wording is simply "wordy" which would then tie into your comment about the fact that counters and auras are tracked and then need to come back with it. It has the same problem a lot of older cards do: it just says too many things and is insanely complicated to get the effect they want.
    Posted in: Pauper
  • posted a message on Oubliette Reprint & Change in Function
    Quote from Upkeep »

    What do you all think of the change in text? For better or worse? Should they have stuck to the original, wordy ability?
    Importantly, your question is really "should they have changed to Phasing or just not reprinted the card". Wizards has been pretty vocal about a) not liking functional errata unless necessary and b) Oubliette was impossible to print with the current/previous wording. Unfortunately, they only get to choose one of these in this case so they went with functional errata.

    I am not a fan of the change in functionality itself. People have pointed out that it now deals with Commanders much better, you have pointed out the ETB and LTB trigger differences, it works much better against Equipment, and sort of worse against Auras (in certain circumstances).

    But, the change was one of necessity and not being able to print the card as worded compared to changing functionality means that I think they went the right way with it and I won't complain about them finding a way to reprint a much needed card. Or, at least, one being asked about for a long time.
    Posted in: Pauper
  • posted a message on Idol of Endurance v Electrodominance?
    Because Idol of Endurance provides a duration in which you can cast the spell. It says "Until end of turn". Since it provides that duration, you don't get to bypass the normal timing for casting the spell.

    Electrodominance on the other hand says nothing about when the spell can be cast; just that you can cast one. This means the spell is cast during the resolution of the spell. By doing so, it provides an additional permission to cast the spell for you to cast "right now". So, you can cast the spell it says to cast.

    It is especially important to recognize that without the necessary rules to allow you to cast a spell during the resolution of ED, you couldn't cast anything (not even an Instant). The rules do not provide permission to cast spells during the resolution of other objects unless said objects provides the permission. Rule 608.2f:


    608.2f. If an effect gives a player the option to pay mana, they may activate mana abilities before taking that action. If an effect specifically instructs or allows a player to cast a spell during resolution, they do so by following the steps in rules 601.2a-i, except no player receives priority after it's cast. That spell becomes the topmost object on the stack, and the currently resolving spell or ability continues to resolve, which may include casting other spells this way. No other spells can normally be cast and no other abilities can normally be activated during resolution.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Treasure tokens
    First, Approach isn't really relevant here. You are simply casting a spell.

    Second, you don't "tap mana". You tap *for* mana. The way you phrased it suggests you think lands are mana and that isn't true; lands simply produce mana (as do a number of other things). Spells don't generally care where mana comes from; you just need mana. Since Treasure tokens produce mana, you can use that to cast spells like Approach. That mana does not have to come from lands.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Set boosters (yet another new type of booster)
    Quote from SpeedGrapher »
    I'll say I was talking about this just the other day about getting a non draft booster. And they deliver in 1 day. Seems okay. Have to wait for the response to see how it sells. I don't think increasing the randomness will go over that well. I don't know if there is much of a reason to buy these. Again like other posters have said they might be eliminating the regular booster for this.
    For me, the guaranteed foil is a big draw (and the possibility of more than one rare is as well). For only $1 or so more, it seems like a much better potential value and without a bunch of commons that I always give away anyway.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Set boosters (yet another new type of booster)
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    Yet another new type of pack the whales will go for (I’m almost certain the price will be 3/4 to about 1/2 what collector boosters price is)
    The article said they would be around $1 more than normal Draft Boosters. So, around $5 retail instead of $4.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on [2XM] Two Unoffical spoilers which are........
    Quote from Ryperior74 »
    Quote from Arctanis8 »
    Quote from ChaosNomad »
    Oubliette is now just straight gas in Commander. An O-Ring that doesn’t let your opponent move their commander to the command zone. In addition, it can nullify stacks of equipment if they’re on a Creature. Straight gas I tells ya


    It doesn’t do much, it is removed easily. Not sure why there’s excitement about it, other than using the new wording of phasing


    basicly it means if a commander phases out they can't react to puting it back in the command zone so as long as oubliette stays the ycan't get their commander back
    So, just like Lignify, Song of the Dryads, Imprisoned in the Moon, etc.? It works better with equipment (since they phase out) and worse with Auras (since they phase out too).

    It is certainly a decent option for black decks to try to "permanently" remove a commander, but it isn't like we don't already have effects like this. I think the hype is a little overblown. Phasing obviously makes it way better but I don't think it is good enough to actually take a slot as 9 times out of 10 I just want to destroy something. I don't want them to get their Avacyn back for example so putting in a removal spell that works better against Commanders but worse against everything else seems like a bad idea.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Elder Mastery + Nekusar + Two-Headed Giant
    During the Draw Step, each player draws 2 cards (one for the normal draw and one from Nekusar). Since the Draw trigger from Nekusar and the damage trigger from Nekusar are actually trying to go onto the stack at the same time (and you have 2 of each trigger) you get to choose the order of the triggers so you can make them discard 2 before they draw their next card or vice versa. This is because if you have the damage trigger resolve before the Draw trigger, the Mastery Trigger will also end up resolving before the Draw trigger.

    In the end though, each player is only dealt 2 damage from Nekusar. The fact that their shared life total decreases by 4 doesn't change the fact that each player is dealt 2 damage. So, each player discards 4 cards total each draw step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Masterplan: a new MTG multiplayer format
    Generally with new/upstart formats for multiplayer, I start with the banlist to see where the creator(s) stand on it. And I have to say that your banlist seems....weird. At least in the "scarce" list. Is there really an issue if a card is scarce if a) no one uses it anyway or b) it is cheap? I guess I don't really understand the point of the scarce list. This is probably where I would take the biggest issue with the list as the bulk of these make no sense to be banned. Being scarce isn't a good reason to be banned.

    And why not just put Memory Jar, Morphling, Mox Diamond, Phyrexian Negator, Phyrexian Dreadnought, etc. (I am not going to list them all) in the "proper" banlist? They aren't going to get a meaningful reprint since they are on the Reserved List.

    And yeah, I would be curious on lostincologne2's question as well. Are you saying the physical card has to be in the new frame or you can use any card as long as one printing was in the new frame?
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Kraul Harpooner v Order of Midnight
    Yes. Fighting is not Combat. Not being able to block doesn't mean it can't Fight. It will Fight just fine.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Auorarion & Excalibur
    So, to be fair, the rules do tend to allow for things to override the rules. That is what 101.1 covers. The main issue with this, and combining it with "can't" effects and rules, is that there are only 2 precedents that I can find. Both are pretty tenuous but they are there:

    First, 302.6 says creatures can't attack or activate abilities with the tap symbol if they are summoning sick. Haste directly contradicts this and haste wins out.

    Second, rule 402.3 says players can't look at the cards in an opponent's hand. Obviously, the bulk of discard as well as a few other effects override this too.

    Now, the main issue with this is that the rules themselves are very seldomly worded as a restriction. That is, nearly everything we do in this game is because we have *permission* to do so by the rules. We aren't necessarily restricted from the doing things; we are simply given permission and we follow those permissions. It is why things like Bring to Light work. The rules don't say we can't cast spells in the middle of a spell resolving; we just don't normally have permission to do so. Bring to Light provides permission.

    So, with the idea of the ruleset being, by and large, permissive in nature, user_938036's point above stands. If the rules are written in such as way as to prevent something from happening, this is mostly adhered to in the bulk of Magic design with the above exceptions. Which means designing a card to directly contradict one of the few "can't" rules is not recommended and has very little precedent.

    Beyond the rules issues, or concerns, the wording on the ability still doesn't work. I have seen enough of Reap's threads to know it won't be changed so the rest of the conversation is simply academic. Copying an Enchantment makes it *only* an enchantment and there are very few Auras that can be attached to enchantments so the situation isn't likely to come up with the current wording. And yes, I realize that isn't the intent, but we all know "intent" and "correct templating/wording" never go together in these designs so it is a moot point.

    And, while I am at it: Sanctity gives the provided effect twice. Again, not the intent but the wording allows it. This has been discussed to death so I am not going to rehash other's arguments on it.
    Posted in: Custom Card Creation
  • posted a message on Karador, Ghost Chieftain, need advice on staples
    You might want to take a look at my Primer for Karador here. Cryogen also has a good write up in his thread here.

    As for some decent options, I would look at ramp in the form of Sakura Tribe-Elder, Wood Elves, Farhaven Elf, etc.

    Fiend Artisan is pretty decent and I have gotten a lot of mileage out of Yawgmoth, Thran Physician. If you care about it, he goes infinite with Mikaeus, the Unhallowed and basically everything else.

    Removal is also important. I went a long time with only having very basic spot removal and I found that was a mistake. Swords to Plowshares, Path to Exile, Beast Within, Anguished Unmaking, etc. are all good for a variety of different reasons. Don't go super heavy on creature based removal because Torpor Orb and Overwhelming Splendor can be headaches to deal with.

    Bane of Progress is a good card. Aura Shards can be phenomenal. And Karmic Guide is really good too.
    Posted in: Commander (EDH)
  • posted a message on Mind's Desire Question about Scourge Version
    If the Oracle text doesn't have it, then no version has it. Every version of a card works the same, regardless of what is printed on the card.

    Also, in this scenario "as though it was in your hand" was removed because of issues like this. The functionality is exactly the same as it was before; just now, people don't think things like Yidris would trigger. Since Yidris requires the spell to be cast from hand, and being cast from Exile is not being cast from the hand, Yidris won't trigger on spell's cast from Mind's Desire.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Gyruda and Bruvac question
    I think we should wait for the new CR updates and card errata to bother trying to continue this conversation. This situation doesn't technically even exist yet since the cards aren't released. Things like Sphinx's Tutelage and Grindstone apparently will receive errata so it is possible Gyruda will too.

    https://twitter.com/EliShffrn/status/1274201913777479680
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on “You may”
    The wording on the card is pretty clear. "You may" offers a choice. The choice is whether or not to search. If they decline the search, they simply choose not to do it so they don't search and they don't shuffle. As mentioned above, even if they do search, they aren't required to find anything anyway, though they would shuffle in that case.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.