2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Zada, Hedron Grinder + Primal Command
    Quote from kp256 »
    Quote from willdice »

    Dromoka's Command - if you choose the second mode (targeting an opponent) and the third (targetinf Zada), it won't be copied because it's not a spell that "targets only Zada".
    If you choose the third mode (targeting Zada) and the fourth (also targeting Zada), then the Command will be copied for each of your other creatures. Each copy also has the third and fourth modes selected, both targeting the same creature.

    The fourth mode targets both creatures.

    Oops.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Zada, Hedron Grinder + Primal Command
    Answering the generic question, if you cast a modal spell choosing one mode that targets only Zada and one or more modes without targets, Zada's ability will copy the modal spell. Each copy will have the same modes selected, with the targeted mode targeting one of your other creatures. It will also work with multiple targeted modes if all of them target Zada.

    Two examples:

    Dromoka's Command - if you choose the second mode (targeting an opponent) and the third (targeting Zada), it won't be copied because it's not a spell that "targets only Zada".
    If you choose the third mode (targeting Zada) and the fourth (also targeting Zada), then the Command will be copied for each of your other creatures. Each copy also has the third and fourth modes selected, both targeting the same creature. (incorrect information crossed out)


    Verdant Confluence - if you choose the first mode once and the third mode twice, with the first mode targeting Zada, then Zada's ability will copy it for each of your other creatures. Each copy also has the first mode once and the third mode twice, with the first mode targeting that other creature. So each creatures gets one counter and you get a total of basic lands equal to twice the number of creatures you control.
    You can also choose the first mode twice (targeting Zada both times) and the third mode once, for two counters on each creature and a number of basic lands equal to the number of creatures.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mind Over Matter and protection from blue
    A creature with Protection from Blue cannot be the target of Mind Over Matter's ability.

    The debate is: The creature has protection from blue but is mind over matter directly influencing that card like a twiddle would? Or is it giving the player the ability to tap or untap permanent by discarding a card and thus mind over matter isn't directly targeting?

    That's not something the rules care about. There's no debate about "who is actually doing the tapping, the card or the player". The rules don't go there.


    Mind Over Matter is blue.
    Mind Over Matter is the source of the activated ability.
    Mind Over Matter's ability requires a target.
    A permanent with protection from blue can't be chosen as the target of an ability from a blue source.


    702.16b. A permanent or player with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.

    113.7. The source of an ability is the object that generated it. The source of an activated ability on the stack is the object whose ability was activated. The source of a triggered ability (other than a delayed triggered ability) on the stack, or one that has triggered and is waiting to be put on the stack, is the object whose ability triggered. To determine the source of a delayed triggered ability, see rules 603.7d-f.

    109.1. An object is an ability on the stack, a card, a copy of a card, a token, a spell, a permanent, or an emblem.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Omnath, Locus of Creation landfall 3+
    It triggers, but nothing happens on resolution.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Omnath, Locus of Mana - Steps, Phases, and Turns
    Quote from Kamonohashi »
    The text on Omnath, Locus of Mana says, "You don't lose unspent green mana as steps and phases end."

    The rulings info on Gatherer says, "You can keep green mana in your mana pool indefinitely while Omnath is on the battlefield. That means if you add a green mana to your mana pool during one step or phase, you can spend it during a later step or phase, or even a later turn."

    Will Omnath, Locus of Mana keep your green mana available from turn to turn? Even though the text only mentions steps and phases? Does the text on the card imply that you can keep green mana even after your ending phase ends?


    The rules say you lose unspent mana when a step or phase ends. Not "when a step, phase, or turn ends".

    You normally loses unspent mana when your turn ends because the Cleanup Step and the Ending Phase ended, not because the turn itself ended. Omnath makes so that even the very last step/phase in a turn doesn't cause you to lose green mana, and so the mana remains for the following turn, and the one after it, until spent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question about Kathril, Aspect Warper
    I have another question about Kathril. If I use Strionic Resonator when it enters the battlefield, and i have let's say a creature with flying, first strike and lifelink in my graveyard, what happens next? The first triggered ability resolves, giving it the 3 abilities and three +1/+1 counters. On the second time, can i give Kathril again the three abilities and three +1/+1 counters?

    So what i am asking is can a creature with an ability counter get another counter with the same ability?


    Yes, you can.

    Nothing prevents a creature with a, say, flying counter from getting another flying counter.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Adventure and Soulfire Grandmaster
    Quote from chaikov »
    I was under the impression that Adventure's replacement effect is a self-replacement effect (rule 614.15), and as such would have to be applied first.
    How can one tell what is and what isn't a self-replacement effect?



    614.15. Some replacement effects are not continuous effects. Rather, they are an effect of a resolving spell or ability that replace part or all of that spell or ability's own effect(s). Such effects are called self-replacement effects. The text creating a self-replacement effect is usually part of the ability whose effect is being replaced, but the text can be a separate ability, particularly when preceded by an ability word. When applying replacement effects to an event, self-replacement effects are applied before other replacement effects.

    A self-replacement effect needs to replace part of the spell's own effect. Going to the graveyard as it resolves isn't "that spell's own effect", so replacing it isn't considered a self-replacement effect.



    Brimstone Volley and Burst Lightning have self-replacement effects. They replace their own damage with a higher amount of damage; if applicable, you always start with the higher damage before trying to apply any other damage-changing/-preventing effect.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Is this infinite?
    Yes, it does.

    You pay 3, create a token, Mana Echoes triggers and gives you 4 colorless. You use 3 of those to create another token, getting 5 colorless mana out of Echoes, and so on.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Targeting question regarding Exhume
    Exhume does not target. You can tell from it not using the word "target" anywhere on its text.

    Each player chooses the creature to be returned as Exhume resolves, not beforehand. You don't know which creature they're "trying to return" until they actually return it.

    The best you can do with Return to Nature is to exile the strongest of the three cards on their graveyard so your opponent only gets the second best, but they still get a creature.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Land Types on Cards and Color Identity
    The Oracle Text for Orcish Lumberjack has both the red and green mana symbols; that's the reason its color identity is red and green, not the "forest" word on the cost. You always go with the Oracle text over printed text.

    T, Sacrifice a Forest: Add three mana in any combination of R and/or G.

    EDIT: You have now changed your original post.

    Wand of the Elements has no color identity. You can run it on any Commander deck of any color. Whoever told you it can't go on a monored deck is wrong. You can even run it on deck that isn't red nor blue, for whatever good it would be on it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on commander and the new partners
    When you cast one of the commanders, are you allowed to take the other commander into your hand? Or does it stay in the command zone?


    It stays in the command zone. The ability allows you to search only your library for the other partner. Your command zone isn't your library.

    Also, are you allowed to put 1 of the commanders in your main deck and the other in the command zone?


    If you have both as your commanders, they must begin the game in your command zone.

    If you have only one of the partners as your commander, then the other partner doesn't fit the Color Identity of your deck, and therefore it can't be part of the deck (this is true for all the Partner With pairs printed so far).

    Now, IF one of the Partners is somehow put on the library, and you choose to let it go there (rather than putting it back on the command zone instead), then you can use the other Partner to get it to your hand.


    ---

    It makes more sense when you realize Partner With isn't a new ability for Commander 2020. It was originally designed for Battlebond (see: Pir, Imaginative Rascal/Toothy, Imaginary Friend), a set focused on the Two-Headed Giant format. There are even some non-legendary creatures with the ability, such as Chakram Slinger/Chakram Retriever. The intention for the "search your library and put it on your hand" effect was that you would draw one from your deck, play it, and then you or your teammate gets to search for the other card.

    The "you can have two commanders" bit was just an additional effect they decided to include, even if it kinda negates the main "search for my partner" main effect. Because otherwise you'd have two potential Commanders with synergy that just couldn't be played together.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Playing from Exile
    To cast something means to put it on the stack from its original zone (normally your hand, but in this case from exile).

    So when you cast the exiled Doom Blade, you move it from exile to the stack. Eventually it resolves (or gets countered), and goes to the graveyard.

    It is not in exile anymore, so Nightveil Specter doesn't let you cast it again.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on agitator ant goading your own creatures
    It is a general Goad ruling for C20, also found in Shiny Impetus and the rest of the Impetus cycle. Because the way it happens in your End Step and ends when your next turn begins, you're never forced to attack with it (unless there's a way to gain an additional combat phase after the end step, I'm unaware of).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Killing Kalamax in response to their first instant?
    Quote from Vallhay »
    I still think you're looking at this wrong. Once the Crop rotation is cast, Kalamax ability goes to the stack (since its tapped) and then the other player can respond to it killing Kalamax, but its ability already triggered and its on the stack (Since it was tapped) and will resolve even if its dead.


    701.4a To cast a spell is to take it from the zone it’s in (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. A player may cast a spell if they have priority. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
    113.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability.


    The point is that the ability's "intervening 'if' clause" needs to be true both when the ability trigger, and when it resolves.

    603.4. A triggered ability may read "When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect]." When the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it resolves. If the condition isn't true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the "intervening 'if' clause" rule. (The word "if" has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a card; this rule only applies to an "if" that immediately follows a trigger condition.)

    So if an opponent responds to the trigger by untapping Kalamax somehow, then the ability already on the stack fails to resolve.

    And wanting to know what happens if Kalamax is removed is a reasonable question. After all, if Kalamax isn't on the battlefield, it can't be considered tapped. But in this case apparently the Last Known Information concept applies, and the game looks back to see if Kalamax was tapped at the last moment it existed on the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Double Masters 2XM New reprint product
    For the sacred love of Thassa’s divine bosom, if his doesn’t have worldly tutor reprinted I’m storming wotc and peeing on their cars


    twice

    Joke's on you, they are all working from home so there's no car there.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.