2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Magus of the Abyss how to?
    Quote from ncat63 »
    Player 1's only creature is hexproof, but this only protects from opponents targeting, so player 1 would be forced to destroy the creature still. Right?
    No.

    113.8. The controller of an activated ability on the stack is the player who activated it. The controller of
    a triggered ability on the stack
    (other than a delayed triggered ability) is the player who controlled
    the ability’s source when it triggered
    , or, if it had no controller, the player who owned the ability’s
    source when it triggered. To determine the controller of a delayed triggered ability, see rules
    603.7d–f.

    702.11b “Hexproof” on a permanent means “This permanent can’t be the target of spells or abilities
    your opponents control.”


    Player 2 controls Magus of the Abyss. Player 2 controls the "At the beginning of each player's upkeep, destroy target nonartifact creature that player controls of their choice. It can't be regenerated." ability on the stack. Player 1's creature with hexproof can't be the target of that ability. Hexproof doesn't care who makes the selection of any targets.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Planeswalkers
    Quote from dbengio »
    1) Can I have 2 planeswalkers on the battlefield?

    As long as they have different names, sure why not?
    704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player
    chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the
    “legend rule.”

    There used to be a rule that cared about "planeswalker type" for this purpose (e.g., "Chandra" for Chandra, Novice Pyromancer and Chandra, Acolyte of Flame). That rule went away with the release of Ixalan.
    306.4. Previously, planeswalkers were subject to a “planeswalker uniqueness rule” that stopped a player
    from controlling two planeswalkers of the same planeswalker type. This rule has been removed and
    planeswalker cards printed before this change have received errata in the Oracle card reference to
    have the legendary supertype. Like other legendary permanents, they are subject to the “legend
    rule” (see rule 704.5j).

    Quote from dbengio »
    2) Can I cast Searing Spear to damage a planeswalker?

    Yes, a planeswalker can be the target for "Searing Spear deals 3 damage to any target."
    108. Cards
    108.1. Use the Oracle card reference when determining a card’s wording. A card’s Oracle text can be
    found using the Gatherer card database at Gatherer.Wizards.com.

    115.4. Some spells and abilities that refer to damage require “any target,” “another target,” “two
    targets,” or similar rather than “target [something].” These targets may be creatures, players, or
    planeswalkers
    . Other game objects, such as noncreature artifacts or spells, can’t be chosen.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Deathtouch
    Quote from dbengio »
    Does deathtouch kill plans walkers?

    Only if it's (also) a creature.
    702.2. Deathtouch
    702.2a Deathtouch is a static ability.
    702.2b A creature with toughness greater than 0 that’s been dealt damage by a source with
    deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based
    action. See rule 704.

    704.5h If a creature has toughness greater than 0, and it’s been dealt damage by a source with
    deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked, that creature is destroyed.
    Regeneration can replace this event.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Can I cast Regal Leosaur for its mutate cost using Lurrus?
    https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/feature/ikoria-lair-behemoths-and-commander-2020-edition-release-notes-2020-04-10


    Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths Release Notes

    Mutate represents an alternative cost. To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying (such as the alternative cost of mutate), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was and no matter whether an alternative cost was paid.

    The condition for Lurrus's ability is "permanent spell with converted mana cost 2 or less". Alternative costs (such as mutate) or additional costs (such as kicker) are irrelevant for this condition. The converted cost of your Regal Leosaur spell is 2, so it qualifies.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on What has priority of these two cards?
    Cards and other objects don't have priority. Players do.
    Quote from Sibbe »
    My opponent places Shackles on one of my creature cards on the battlefield.
    I also have Elvish Lyrist on the battlefield.

    Can i sacrifice my Elvish Lyrist to destroy Shackles before he can use "Return Shackles to its owner´s hand." ?

    Depending on which player acts first (and during whose turn), the sequence might be one of the following:
    Opponent acting first during their turn, if they have WW available.
    1. Opponent gets priority and activates "W: Return Shackles to its owner's hand." They pay the cost by spending W obtained in an unspecified way.
    2. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    3. You get priority and activate "G, T, Sacrifice Elvish Lyrist: Destroy target enchantment." You choose Shackles as the target, and pay the cost by spending G, tapping Elvish Lyrist, and sacrificing Elvish Lyrist.
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. Opponent gets priority and activates "W: Return Shackles to its owner's hand." They pay the cost by spending W obtained in an unspecified way.
    6. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 5) resolves. Shackles is returned to opponent's hand.
    9. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    10. You get priority and pass.
    11. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 3) resolves. Its only target is gone, so it does nothing.
    12. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    13. You get priority and pass.
    14. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 1) resolves. Shackles is gone, so it does nothing.
    15. Opponent gets priority and ....

    You acting first during opponent's turn.
    1. You get priority and activate "G, T, Sacrifice Elvish Lyrist: Destroy target enchantment." You choose Shackles as the target, and pay the cost by spending G, tapping Elvish Lyrist, and sacrificing Elvish Lyrist.
    2. You get priority and pass.
    3. Opponent gets priority and activates "W: Return Shackles to its owner's hand." They pay the cost by spending W obtained in an unspecified way.
    4. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    5. You get priority and pass.
    6. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 3) resolves. Shackles is returned to opponent's hand.
    7. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    8. You get priority and pass.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 1) resolves. Its only target is gone, so it does nothing.
    10. Opponent gets priority and ....

    Opponent acting first during your turn, if they have only W available.
    1. Opponent gets priority and activates "W: Return Shackles to its owner's hand." They pay the cost by spending W obtained in an unspecified way.
    2. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    3. You get priority and activate "G, T, Sacrifice Elvish Lyrist: Destroy target enchantment." You choose Shackles as the target, and pay the cost by spending G, tapping Elvish Lyrist, and sacrificing Elvish Lyrist.
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    6. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 3) resolves. Shackles is destroyed.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 1) resolves. Shackles is gone, so it does nothing.
    10. You get priority and ....
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Massacre Gilr- Leyline of the Void interaction
    [c]Leyline of the Void[/c] -> Leyline of the Void
    [c]Massacre Girl[/c] -> Massacre Girl
    [c]Cauldron Familiar[/c] -> Cauldron Familiar

    Quote from Aegnon Black »
    After it died and put into my graveyard it is exiled as expected but Massacre Girl did not trigger again.

    Not "after". "Instead." It never went to your graveyard, so there was no reason for that ability to trigger.
    614. Replacement Effects
    614.1. Some continuous effects are replacement effects. Like prevention effects (see rule 615),
    replacement effects apply continuously as events happen—they aren’t locked in ahead of time. Such
    effects watch for a particular event that would happen and completely or partially replace that event
    with a different event. They act like “shields” around whatever they’re affecting.
    614.1a Effects that use the word “instead” are replacement effects. Most replacement effects use the
    word “instead” to indicate what events will be replaced with other events.


    614.6. If an event is replaced, it never happens. A modified event occurs instead, which may in turn
    trigger abilities. Note that the modified event may contain instructions that can’t be carried out, in
    which case the impossible instruction is simply ignored.

    700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”

    Quote from Aegnon Black »
    I am not sure how "Leyline of the Void" works with on death affects? Do we assume they are exiled instead of dying?
    That's not an assumption, that's an explicit statement. "If a card would be put into an opponent's graveyard from anywhere, exile it instead."
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Q about Ebon Praetor and counters
    Quote from Perodequeso »
    I'm thinking that both counters just hang around on the creature, is this correct?
    Yes, they just hang around, because there is nothing to remove them; rule 704.5q is specific to +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters. (This is why they stopped printing cards that generate +2/+2 or -2/-2 counters.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Tomik, Distinguished Advokist + Fall of the Thran
    [c]Tomik, Distinguished Advokist[/c] -> Tomik, Distinguished Advokist
    [c]Fall of the Thran[/c] -> Fall of the Thran

    Quote from liminal18 »
    Does Tomik's static ability prevent my opponent from returning two lands from their graveyard to the battlefield?

    Neither of its static abilities will interfere with the saga.

    "Lands on the battlefield and land cards in graveyards can't be the targets of spells or abilities your opponents control." will not interfere because there is no target (and because your opponent doesn't control the saga and its abilities).
    115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and
    players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and
    Abilities.”
    115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that
    object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the
    word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a
    target.


    "Your opponents can't play land cards from graveyards." will not interfere because no one is playing a land.
    701.13. Play
    701.13a To play a land means to put it onto the battlefield from the zone it’s in (usually the hand).
    A player may play a land if they have priority, it’s the main phase of their turn, the stack is
    empty, and they haven’t played a land this turn. Playing a land is a special action (see rule 116),
    so it doesn’t use the stack; it simply happens. Putting a land onto the battlefield as the result of a
    spell or ability isn’t the same as playing a land.
    See rule 305, “Lands.”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hexproof
    Quote from dbengio »
    If I cast Tragic Arrogance, does hexpriof protects Dungrove Elder from it?
    It does not.
    702.11b “Hexproof” on a permanent means “This permanent can’t be the target of spells or abilities
    your opponents control.”

    Tragic Arrogance has no target.
    115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and
    players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and
    Abilities.”
    115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that
    object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the
    word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a
    target
    .
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Chandra's Spitfire + multiple Scorch Spitter
    Quote from raphael75 »
    If I have 1 Chandra's Spitfire and 3 Scorch Spitters and attack with all 4 creatures, would the Spitfire get 3 triggers and get +9/+0 or just 1 trigger? Just trying to figure out if each Scorch Spitter is calculated as a separate trigger.

    Yes, they are separate. Why would they not be?
    For clarity, I'll refer to the three Scorch Spitters as Moe, Larry, and Curly. Your declare attackers step would then look something like:
    1. Your declare attackers step begins. You declare Chandra's Spitfire, Moe, Larry, and Curly as attacking your opponent and tap them. This triggers three abilities.
    2. You would get priority, but there are three triggered abilities for you to put on the stack in an order of your choosing. A) You put "Whenever Moe attacks, it deals 1 damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking." on the stack. B) You put "Whenever Larry attacks, it deals 1 damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking." on the stack. C) You put "Whenever Curly attacks, it deals 1 damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking." on the stack.
    3. You get priority and pass.
    4. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    5. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 2C) resolves. Curly deals 1 damage to opponent. This triggers the ability of Chandra's Spitfire.
    6. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "Whenever an opponent is dealt noncombat damage, Chandra's Spitfire gets +3/+0 until end of turn." on the stack.
    7. You get priority and pass.
    8. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6) resolves. Chandra's Spitfire gets +3/+0 until end of turn. (It is now 4/3.)
    10. You get priority and pass.
    11. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    12. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 2B) resolves. Larry deals 1 damage to opponent. This triggers the ability of Chandra's Spitfire.
    13. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "Whenever an opponent is dealt noncombat damage, Chandra's Spitfire gets +3/+0 until end of turn." on the stack.
    14. You get priority and pass.
    15. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    16. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6) resolves. Chandra's Spitfire gets +3/+0 until end of turn. (It is now 7/3.)
    17. You get priority and pass.
    18. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    19. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 2A) resolves. Moe deals 1 damage to opponent. This triggers the ability of Chandra's Spitfire.
    20. You would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. You put "Whenever an opponent is dealt noncombat damage, Chandra's Spitfire gets +3/+0 until end of turn." on the stack.
    21. You get priority and pass.
    22. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    23. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 20) resolves. Chandra's Spitfire gets +3/+0 until end of turn. (It is now 10/3.)
    24. You get priority and pass.
    25. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    26. Your declare attackers step ends.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Walking Desecration vs Silent Arbiter and 2 other creatures.
    Quote from Squirrel455 »
    Can I use walking desecration to have a creature with shroud attack?

    Cat (for example) is a creature type, and you can absolutely name that for Walking Desecration's ability even if someone controls Scythe Tiger and/or Steppe Lynx. Cat creatures (including those, if present) will then attack this turn if able.

    Quote from Squirrel455 »
    Does this ability count as an area effect?

    The ability of Walking Desecration doesn't target, so shroud can not interfere with it. Is that what you are asking?
    702.18. Shroud
    702.18a Shroud is a static ability. “Shroud” means “This permanent or player can’t be the target of
    spells or abilities.”
    702.18b Multiple instances of shroud on the same permanent or player are redundant.

    115.10. Spells and abilities can affect objects and players they don’t target. In general, those objects and
    players aren’t chosen until the spell or ability resolves. See rule 608, “Resolving Spells and
    Abilities.”
    115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ability doesn’t make that
    object or player a target of that spell or ability. Unless that object or player is identified by the
    word “target” in the text of that spell or ability, or the rule for that keyword ability, it’s not a
    target.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copying Reanimate with a Titan
    Quote from Aerris »
    Then the second copy of Reanimate will still have the same Kroxa as it's target.

    How accurate am I? My uncertainty is mostly based on the Kroxa being the shared target, but then moving from one zone, to another, and then back to the original zone.
    It's not the same Kroxa.
    400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or
    relation to, its previous existence. There are nine exceptions to this rule:
    400.7a Effects from spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that change the characteristics
    or controller of a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to the permanent that spell
    becomes.
    400.7b Prevention effects that apply to damage from a permanent spell on the stack continue to
    apply to damage from the permanent that spell becomes.
    400.7c An ability of a permanent can reference information about the spell that became that
    permanent as it resolved, including what costs were paid to cast that spell or what mana was
    spent to pay those costs.
    400.7d Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another (for example, “When
    Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield”) can find the new object that it became in
    the zone it moved to when the ability triggered, if that zone is a public zone.
    400.7e Abilities of Auras that trigger when the enchanted permanent leaves the battlefield can find
    the new object that Aura became in its owner’s graveyard if it was put into that graveyard at the
    same time the enchanted permanent left the battlefield. It can also find the new object that Aura
    became in its owner’s graveyard as a result of being put there as a state-based action for not
    being attached to a permanent. (See rule 704.5m.)
    400.7f If an effect grants a nonland card an ability that allows it to be cast, that ability will continue
    to apply to the new object that card became after it moved to the stack as a result of being cast
    this way.
    400.7g If an effect allows a nonland card to be cast, other parts of that effect can find the new object
    that card becomes after it moves to the stack as a result of being cast this way.
    400.7h If an effect causes an object to move to a public zone, other parts of that effect can find that
    object. If the cost of a spell or ability causes an object to move to a public zone, that spell or
    ability’s effects can find that object.
    400.7i After resolving a madness triggered ability (see rule 702.34), if the exiled card wasn’t cast
    and was moved to a public zone, effects referencing the discarded card can find that object.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Beginning of upkeep question
    Quote from Passtheflux »
    I have a card that states “at the beginning of your upkeep, gain 1 life” does this mean every time it’s my upkeep throughout the game I gain 1 life?

    If that's what it says, then that's what it does. (Probably either Nyx-Fleece Ram or Fountain of Renewal.)

    500.6. When a phase or step begins, any abilities that trigger “at the beginning of” that phase or step
    trigger. They are put on the stack the next time a player would receive priority. (See rule 117,
    “Timing and Priority.”)

    There is no "unless that ability triggered in a previous turn" exception. To only trigger on your next upkeep, it would either have to say "at the beginning of your next upkeep" (see Rally the Ancestors) or remove the source (see Conversion).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger vs Ooze
    Quote from renatoslc83 »
    Hi guys, my opponent cast Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger from his hand and after the 2 abilities are done the Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger goes to the graveyard and he wants to cast it with the escape ability, I have an Scavenging Ooze in play, can I exile the Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger or I cant? Due the priorities.

    That would depend on the order he chose for putting those triggered abilities on the stack.
    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player,
    in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See
    rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are
    performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats
    until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate
    player gets priority.


    1. Opponent's main phase begins.
    2. Opponent gets priority and casts Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger. Opponent pays the cost by spending BR obtained in an unspecified way.
    3. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 2) resolves. Opponent puts Kroxa onto the battlefield, triggering two of its abilities.
    6. Opponent would get priority, but there are triggered abilities to put on the stack. A) Opponent puts "When Kroxa enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless it escaped." on the stack. B) Opponent puts "Whenever Kroxa enters the battlefield or attacks, each opponent discards a card, then each opponent who didn't discard a nonland card this way loses 3 life." on the stack.
    7. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    8. You get priority and pass.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6B) resolves. The details will depend on your hand contents and decision, as specified in the ability.
    10. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    11. You get priority and pass.
    12. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6A) resolves. Opponent sacrifices Kroxa.
    13. Opponent gets priority and casts Kroxa using the escape ability. Opponent pays the cost by spending BBRR and exiling five other cards from his graveyard.
    14. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    15. You get priority and pass. You might want to use the ability of Scavenging Ooze, but Kroxa has been on the stack rather than in the graveyard since step 13.
    16. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 13) resolves. Opponent puts Kroxa onto the battlefield, triggering one of its abilities.
    17. Opponent would get priority, but there is a triggered ability to put on the stack. Opponent puts "Whenever Kroxa enters the battlefield or attacks, each opponent discards a card, then each opponent who didn't discard a nonland card this way loses 3 life." on the stack.
    18. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    19. You get priority and pass.
    20. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 17) resolves. As before, the details will depend on your hand and decision.
    21. Opponent gets priority and ...
    Alternately,

    1. Opponent's main phase begins.
    2. Opponent gets priority and casts Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger. Opponent pays the cost by spending BR obtained in an unspecified way.
    3. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    4. You get priority and pass.
    5. The top object on the stack (the spell cast in step 2) resolves. Opponent puts Kroxa onto the battlefield, triggering two of its abilities.
    6. Opponent would get priority, but there are triggered abilities to put on the stack. A) Opponent puts "Whenever Kroxa enters the battlefield or attacks, each opponent discards a card, then each opponent who didn't discard a nonland card this way loses 3 life." on the stack. B) Opponent puts "When Kroxa enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless it escaped." on the stack.
    7. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    8. You get priority and pass.
    9. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6B) resolves. Opponent sacrifices Kroxa.
    10. Opponent gets priority and passes. Opponent might want to cast Kroxa, but the stack isn't empty.
    11. You get priority and activate "G: Exile target card from a graveyard. If it was a creature card, put a +1/+1 counter on Scavenging Ooze and you gain 1 life." You choose the Kroxa card as the target, and pay the cost by spending G obtained in an unspecified way.
    12. You get priority and pass.
    13. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    14. The top object on the stack (the ability activated in step 11) resolves. You exile the Kroxa card, put a +1/+1 counter on Scavenging Ooze, and you gain 1 life.
    15. Opponent gets priority and passes.
    16. You get priority and pass.
    17. The top object on the stack (the ability put there in step 6A) resolves. The details will depend on your hand contents and decision, as specified in the ability.
    18. Opponent gets priority and ...
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on More Mutate Misunderstanding (actually, more like a question TBH)
    If I mutate a creature onto a God-Eternal, what happens if it dies? I have a sneaking suspicion that the trigger for when a God-Eternal dies only happens when it hits the graveyard, and at that point it becomes separate to the creature mutated onto it, But i wanted to know for sure.

    You would put them into the library third from the top.
    721.3c If an effect can find the new object that a merged permanent becomes as it leaves the
    battlefield, it finds all of those objects. (See rule 400.7.) If that effect causes actions to be taken
    upon those objects, the same actions are taken upon each of them.

    400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or
    relation to, its previous existence. There are nine exceptions to this rule:
    400.7d Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another (for example, “When
    Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield”) can find the new object that it became in
    the zone it moved to when the ability triggered, if that zone is a public zone.

    401.4. If an effect puts two or more cards in a specific position in a library at the same time, the owner
    of those cards may arrange them in any order. That library’s owner doesn’t reveal the order in
    which the cards go into the library.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.