A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Countering Sphinx of New Prahv
    They do not. Creature abilities only work on the battlefield unless otherwise stated in the ability's text (Reassembling Skeleton references the graveyard, anything with cycling has to be in hand Irrigation Fields) so its ability will not function until it has resolved.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Stopping Gift of Doom
    Essentially no. Turning a face down creature face up is a special action which does not use the stack and because attaching Gift of Doom is a replacement effect it will be attached to a creature before anyone can do anything.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Help With "Infinite Damage Loop" Situation
    Generally the ability will detail whether it is damage or loss of life. Fanatical Firebrand deals damage with its ability for example and Vicious Conquistidor's triggered ability is loss of life.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Help With "Infinite Damage Loop" Situation
    So the first thing to note is that lifelink only works with damage and not life loss so Cruel Celebrant and Epicure of Blood having lifelink doesn't matter as they don't deal damage.'

    The way the scenario would resolve the Imperious Sorin activated ability would resolve dealing 3 damage and gaining 6 life in two separate acts so epicure will trigger twice and Cruel Celebrant would trigger once. The epicure triggers resolve as normal and Cruel Celebrant trigger would resolve, but then trigger epicure one additional time because you gained life. At the end you would have dealt 7 damage to a target (assuming it's a player) and gained 7 life.
    Yeah Sorin will trigger Epicure from dealing damage. But Epicure doesn't deal damage.

    I can't find anything on whether "deal N |lifelink| damage and gain N life" will give you two lifegain events or one. But I know an [O]fficial statement on this came out at some point. It cleared up a lot about combining effects with the word "and" or alternate conjunctions in spell effects.

    The last ruling on Firesong and Sunspeaker should be the same as this scenario.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copy Phyrexian Rebirth Horror
    It will be a 9/9. The X is locked in at the time of creation so you'll only have a vanilla 9/9 to copy.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on bolting freebooter
    They will not be able to exile a card. Oblivion Ring style wording used to allow them to permanently exile something because it was two separate abilites the ETB and LTB. Now because it is one ability with a duration of until the creature leaves and since the creature left they will be unable to select anything. They will get to see your hand though.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Metallic mimic
    Each Metallic Mimic is separate so you can have one enter as a Vampire and one enter as a Werewolf if you would like or both the same. If you pick both the same then the second one to enter will enter with a counter.

    Tokens with the appropriate type will enter with a counter.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [C19][CUBE] Ohran Frostang
    It's definitely testable at least. How often will this be a top deck dead card versus turning all your otherwise dead dorks into live cards.
    Posted in: Cube Card and Archetype Discussion
  • posted a message on Sling-Gang Lieutenant question
    No. Once the Lieutenant enters the battlefield the ability to create two tokens triggers and both players get a chance to respond before it resolves. If they cast down before it resolves there will be no goblins to sacrifice. They can however sacrifice just the lietenant to deal 1 damage and then trigger will resolve leaving them with just two goblin tokens.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on C19 - Commanders
    Quote from Shadow345 »
    So the vampire commander is a glorified Bonded Fetch?


    Pretty much. It's what a madness themed deck probably wants though.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Primal Vigor+Doubling Season
    Each one doubles the last event so if you would put 1 counter on something it would be doubled to 2 and then doubled again to 4. If you had 4 Doubling Season in play for example and put three counters on something you would get 3*2*2*2*2 or 48 counters.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Ivory mask vs master of cruelties
    Master of Cruelties
    Ivory Mask

    Master of Cruelties does not target. Only abilities which use the specific word 'target' actually target. Shroud only prevents targetting so it will not affect master of cruelties.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Knowledge Pool + Feather
    Feather, the Redeemed
    Knowledge Pool
    This doesn't work. Knowledge pool will trigger when cast and exile the card before it resolves. Feather's ability only applies as the card is resolving so it won't apply.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Deathtouch & lifelink
    Creatures always deal the entirety of their damage so there is no need to try and maximize anything for lifelink. Damage assignment requires you to assign lethal damage to a creature before assigning any to other blockers (or players if you have trample) but because you have death touch any damage is considered lethal so you can assign the damage in any combination you'd like that totals up to 4. You must always deal the full damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Effects that say 'tap target creature'
    You can target a tapped creature with Dungeon Geists. When the ability resolves the tap portion will do nothing as you cannot tap an already tapped creature, but the rest of the ability will still apply and it will not untap as long as you control Dungeon Geists.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.