A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Ivory mask vs master of cruelties
    Master of Cruelties
    Ivory Mask

    Master of Cruelties does not target. Only abilities which use the specific word 'target' actually target. Shroud only prevents targetting so it will not affect master of cruelties.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Knowledge Pool + Feather
    Feather, the Redeemed
    Knowledge Pool
    This doesn't work. Knowledge pool will trigger when cast and exile the card before it resolves. Feather's ability only applies as the card is resolving so it won't apply.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Deathtouch & lifelink
    Creatures always deal the entirety of their damage so there is no need to try and maximize anything for lifelink. Damage assignment requires you to assign lethal damage to a creature before assigning any to other blockers (or players if you have trample) but because you have death touch any damage is considered lethal so you can assign the damage in any combination you'd like that totals up to 4. You must always deal the full damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Effects that say 'tap target creature'
    You can target a tapped creature with Dungeon Geists. When the ability resolves the tap portion will do nothing as you cannot tap an already tapped creature, but the rest of the ability will still apply and it will not untap as long as you control Dungeon Geists.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Anniversary Gift for MTG Husband
    One color of magic for every magical year?
    Posted in: Talk and Entertainment
  • posted a message on Neurok stealthsuit
    When the attach ability goes to resolve it will have no legal target and as a result will be countered on resolution for not having one. Your suit will remain the field as it was before and you can activate it again should you so choose.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Yuriko the tiger's shadow and Ingenious Infiltrator on Stack
    To start with all the triggers occur at the same time and as a result their controller (you) gets to choose which order they resolve in so you can stack the triggers in any order you want. 2 Yuriko then 2 Ingenious or 1 then 1 then 1 then 1 or whatever.

    As for having to look the issue is you must put all the triggers on the stack at one time so you cannot really do what you want. You can activate abilities in between resolutions so if you had Sensei's Divining Top out for example you can actrivate it and reorder as you'd like.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Free Styles
    Quote from user_938036 »
    As with every set release there is a new code to get 3 packs "playm20"

    And a code to get XP for the mastery system "levelup"


    They released BroughtBack yesterday for 2 more mastery levels.
    Posted in: MTG Arena
  • posted a message on New Judge foil: Isolated Watchtower
    Quote from Pouncing Kavu »
    Weird. Does anyone actually play this in commander? I thought it looked good when it came out, but it seems like it's best in monocolor non-ramp decks, and then are you really going to spend a virtual 3 mana on this?


    The issue is that if an opponent is two lands ahead of you then spending 3 mana to possibly put a land into play is a losing game. Plus is has to be a basic which even further limits things. Without manipulation you have what a 25% chance in most mono colored lists?
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Nexus of Fate
    Quote from Pokken »
    RIP/Helm exiles, so I doubt this would work there. Smile


    Because Rest in Peace and Nexus of Fate have replacement effects the affected objects controller chooses which to apply first and the other won't apply. So if someone were to just mill Nexus of Fate with only rest in peace in place they could just shuffle it back in instead of exiling it. However with the Helm combo they would still continue milling and would eventually be forced to choose to exile it in order to prevent an infinite loop. If they had a way to stop the combo like a enchantment destruction spell they could mill everything but the nexus, destroy the RiP and then have it as their only card left.
    Posted in: Commander Rules Discussion Forum
  • posted a message on Nexus of Fate
    It seems easier to combo with the goes to GY extra turn spells honestly. Flicker an E-wit or any of the 'return target sorcery' etb creatures.
    Posted in: Commander Rules Discussion Forum
  • posted a message on Put into graveyard replacement effects
    Rest in Peace is a replacement effect and not a trigger, Nexus of fate is also a replacement effect. Whenever two replacement effects occur the effected objects controller (or owner if there is no controller) chooses which order to apply them in. You can either exile it or shuffle it in to the library as once one is chosen the other no longer applies.

    Tamiyo's emblem however is a triggered ability. Because Nexus of fate replaces going to the GY with being shuffled into the library the tamiyo emblem will never trigger.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kozilek, the Great Distortion + Command Tower
    Quote from HandsomeP »
    Colorless mana is not "many of any color" so if Kozilek, the Great Distortion is your commander, even though it has colorless mana in its color identity, Command Tower would not produce colorless mana since it's restricted to colored mana production, is that correct?


    Correct. Colorless mana isn't a color of mana and as a result cannot be created by lands that create mana of any color such as Command Tower or City of Brass.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Worst first draft pack ever?
    Gruul and Simic are fine. Orzhov is probably the best, but the others are around a similar enough power level and Incubation Druid is a solid card. It ramps you into late game plays and if you decide to go 3 colors it can help mana fixing. Sure I'd prefer a Lumbering Battlement or Ethereal Absolution but it's a fine first pick. The pack is pretty slim after that though. Burning Tree Vandal and Plague Wight are the only cards I'd include in a deck unless things went completely off the rails.
    Posted in: Limited (Sealed, Draft)
  • posted a message on I really need help to build a Budget human deck
    When trying to make a budget version of a deck you should look at the totally functionality of what you are replacing and where it is on the curve. For example Avacyn's Pilgrim would be a better replacement than Harabaz Druid. Noble Heiarch's power is in enabling t2 plays while making attacks more powerful through exalted it also draws removal from your later spells.

    Depending on how budget you want the deck to go you may want to consider switching to a 2 or 3 color manabase. Unclaimed Territory isn't too expensive, but Ancient Ziggaraut and Cavern of Souls are. Depending on what you already own you might be better off building a GW humans deck for example with your current list:
    Mayor of Avabruck instead of Free booter
    Avacyn's Pilgrim instead of Harabaz
    Anafenza, Kin-Tree Spirit instead of image.

    Then you can either splash black or blue and keep Refletor mage or have Anafenza, the Foremost.

    Posted in: Community Discussion
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.