A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • 1

    posted a message on Help With "Infinite Damage Loop" Situation
    Generally the ability will detail whether it is damage or loss of life. Fanatical Firebrand deals damage with its ability for example and Vicious Conquistidor's triggered ability is loss of life.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 2

    posted a message on Help With "Infinite Damage Loop" Situation
    So the first thing to note is that lifelink only works with damage and not life loss so Cruel Celebrant and Epicure of Blood having lifelink doesn't matter as they don't deal damage.'

    The way the scenario would resolve the Imperious Sorin activated ability would resolve dealing 3 damage and gaining 6 life in two separate acts so epicure will trigger twice and Cruel Celebrant would trigger once. The epicure triggers resolve as normal and Cruel Celebrant trigger would resolve, but then trigger epicure one additional time because you gained life. At the end you would have dealt 7 damage to a target (assuming it's a player) and gained 7 life.
    Yeah Sorin will trigger Epicure from dealing damage. But Epicure doesn't deal damage.

    I can't find anything on whether "deal N |lifelink| damage and gain N life" will give you two lifegain events or one. But I know an [O]fficial statement on this came out at some point. It cleared up a lot about combining effects with the word "and" or alternate conjunctions in spell effects.

    The last ruling on Firesong and Sunspeaker should be the same as this scenario.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Sling-Gang Lieutenant question
    No. Once the Lieutenant enters the battlefield the ability to create two tokens triggers and both players get a chance to respond before it resolves. If they cast down before it resolves there will be no goblins to sacrifice. They can however sacrifice just the lietenant to deal 1 damage and then trigger will resolve leaving them with just two goblin tokens.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Deathtouch & lifelink
    Creatures always deal the entirety of their damage so there is no need to try and maximize anything for lifelink. Damage assignment requires you to assign lethal damage to a creature before assigning any to other blockers (or players if you have trample) but because you have death touch any damage is considered lethal so you can assign the damage in any combination you'd like that totals up to 4. You must always deal the full damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Yuriko the tiger's shadow and Ingenious Infiltrator on Stack
    To start with all the triggers occur at the same time and as a result their controller (you) gets to choose which order they resolve in so you can stack the triggers in any order you want. 2 Yuriko then 2 Ingenious or 1 then 1 then 1 then 1 or whatever.

    As for having to look the issue is you must put all the triggers on the stack at one time so you cannot really do what you want. You can activate abilities in between resolutions so if you had Sensei's Divining Top out for example you can actrivate it and reorder as you'd like.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Nexus of Fate
    Quote from Pokken »
    RIP/Helm exiles, so I doubt this would work there. Smile


    Because Rest in Peace and Nexus of Fate have replacement effects the affected objects controller chooses which to apply first and the other won't apply. So if someone were to just mill Nexus of Fate with only rest in peace in place they could just shuffle it back in instead of exiling it. However with the Helm combo they would still continue milling and would eventually be forced to choose to exile it in order to prevent an infinite loop. If they had a way to stop the combo like a enchantment destruction spell they could mill everything but the nexus, destroy the RiP and then have it as their only card left.
    Posted in: Commander Rules Discussion Forum
  • 2

    posted a message on Kozilek, the Great Distortion + Command Tower
    Quote from HandsomeP »
    Colorless mana is not "many of any color" so if Kozilek, the Great Distortion is your commander, even though it has colorless mana in its color identity, Command Tower would not produce colorless mana since it's restricted to colored mana production, is that correct?


    Correct. Colorless mana isn't a color of mana and as a result cannot be created by lands that create mana of any color such as Command Tower or City of Brass.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Lifeline + Karn, Silver Golem (also Lifeline + Commander)
    Lifeline only checks if a card is a creature when that creature dies. So it would return in your scenario, but it would be just an artifact and not a creature.

    Yes Lifeline workds the same for commanders as any other creature so long as you don't send it to the command zone.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Enemy Temples are back
    They aren't super exciting, but they are about as exciting as most of the other land cycles really, Battle lands, Cycling Duals, Depletion lands, manaless filters (Mossfire Valley) Pain lands, Tribal duals, the shadows of innistrad ones (Port Town).

    My only real problem is that they haven't finished the cycle yet.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 1

    posted a message on Spellstutter Sprite question
    The ability counts all Faeries you control at the time of resolution including Spellstutter Sprite if it is still on the field. If it has been killed or exiled before the ETB ability resolves it will not be counted.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.