A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on FNM Rewinding Turn
    The point of FNM is to provide a more casual play environment where players are able to learn the rules while still being kept on them. To that end if no other actions have been taken by either player and you judge that backing up is the right decision then it is fine. Just take a random card from the hand of the player that drew and rewind all the way back to the declare blockers step and tell them both to be more careful in the future.

    The rule Thylakelo quoted is for how to handle something that has become illegal, but before it finishes. Judges are still able to fix things including when a card has gone from the library to somewhere else.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Varolz and Pack Rat
    Correct. If you have 1 Rat on the battlefield then all Pack Rats in all zones (hand, library, battlefield, graveyard, etc) will be 1/1. When you go to use scavenge the Pack Rat will be treated as though it had that number printed on it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Counter Spells and targetting spells
    A spell must have a legal target for every use of the word target on the spell. A spell is never a legal target for itself. So no you cannot counter your own counterspell by casting it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Stolen Identity
    It depends on how many golems you start with. If Precursor Golem has his two golem buddies then you'll end up with 3x2 for the first one or 6. However when you go to cast it the next time there are now two of the Precursor Golem so each golem will create 2. So you'll have 18 total golems.

    This is completely wrong because I forgot the ETB effect somehow. Shadowrulz gives the correct answer.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Question?
    Neither player will get first strike. Whenever the archetype tries to give first strike the opponent's second ability steps in and prevents them from gaining it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Undead Alchemist & Commanders
    The Undead Alchemist has a replacement ability which turns the damage that would be dealt into mill. Your opponent will take no commander damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Scapeshifts Questions
    1. The spell will resolve immediately. Once both players have passed priority without adding something to the stack the topmost spell resolves or the game moves to the next phase if it is empty.
    2. Correct.
    3. No. Blood Moon overrides Valakut's text and makes it have only the same text as a basic mountain. This is different from Prismatic Omen which grants the mountain subtype in addition to other types.
    4. Your non-basic lands will be non-basic lands with all basic land subtypes. Note that if the cards had been played in reverse order all your non basic lands would be only mountains.
    5. The ability triggers once he is declared an attacker and yes your opponent can respond. There is nothing really special about his ability.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Heroic Triggers
    Your opponent is correct. Whenever an action occurs in magic (either with a player casting a spell or an ability triggering) both players get a chance to respond by doing something. In this case he is responding to the heroic trigger by casting shock before the heroic trigger can resolve.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Advice please!!
    Ash Zealot isn't really a very effective card. There aren't that many decks actually casting spells from the GY and being a 2/2 means she doesn't match up well with all the x/3's in the format.

    Volcanic Fallout vs. Anger of the Gods is more of a meta choice. Generally speaking you'll want Slagstorm over Anger because it allows you the option of hitting players if you need the extra damage.
    Posted in: Modern
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.