2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Jevela
    To cast it, the card moves onto the Stack, leaving exile. No exception is made to putting it into its owner's graveyard as the last step of its resolution, either.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Mutate on face down permanents
    (The rules for merged permanents are 721. Merging with Permanents , and for mutate are 702.139. Mutate)

    If you mutate onto a face-down creature, and choose to put the new component on top, the resulting permanent is considered face-up because the top component is face-up. The other component is face-down. Also, this isn't considered to be an event of that permanent "being turned face-up"; it simply became face-up.(721.2e)

    If you would turn that permanent face-up, you turn all the face-down components face-up. If you would turn that permanent face-down, you turn all the face-up components face-down.(721.2f)

    Now, on the basis that this rule about morph (below) refers to having the morph ability, and it is not strictly true that a face-down creature has any ability, I would infer that , for mutated creatures specifically, you can pay the morph cost of any component to turn the permanent face-up - provided that the permanent is currently face-down:

    702.36e Any time you have priority, you may turn a face-down permanent you control with a morph ability face up. This is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack (see rule 116). To do this, show all players what the permanent’s morph cost would be if it were face up, pay that cost, then turn the permanent face up. (If the permanent wouldn’t have a morph cost if it were face up, it can’t be turned face up this way.) The morph effect on it ends, and it regains its normal characteristics. Any abilities relating to the permanent entering the battlefield don’t trigger when it’s turned face up and don’t have any effect, because the permanent has already entered the battlefield.


    Mutate gives the merged permanent all the components' abilities, so the morph ability that any of its face-down components has should enable the use of this special action. Do keep in mind that you can only morph something face-up if it is currently face-down.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cowardice questions re:targeting
    That's right. Targets are a choice made during the activation or casting of the ability or spell, which are directed to be made with the word 'target'.

    Aboshan's last ability affects a collection of permanents determined at the time the ability resolves.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Leonin Shikari and Sigarda's Aid (or Vedalken Orrery)
    You can only activate the equip abilities of Equipment permanents.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on The spells that turned into a merged permanent
    That rule doesn't say it's on the battlefield. It says it's part of an object on the battlefield. Not every quality of a whole is true of any part.

    >>> Actually, the puzzlement I have is settled by an answer to one question, attached at the end.

    If the card is an object and it's on the battlefield then the rule defining them says it IS a permanent. We know there has to still be object semantics for components of a merged permanent. CR 721 is loaded with ways that we still treat components as having the complex qualities of objects, like face-down status for example. Their being objects is not in question.

    The intent is that some objects have components, and the necessity is that components are objects. The components are always cards, and those cards represent the object made of those components, and certain references to components pass on to the object merging them and vice versa. But the components are no longer meant to be addressable by player choices. They can't be targets & they can't be chosen as attackers.

    The question:
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on The spells that turned into a merged permanent
    I control Patagia Viper, and create a token that copies it. In response to the enters-the-battlefield triggers, I cast Sea-Dasher Octopus for its mutate cost, mutating the token Viper.

    When the token's abilities resolve, does it find that blue mana was spent to cast it? (see CR400.7) I think not, by way of noting the Octopus spell did not "become" the merged permanent, but only came to represent (among other representatives) that permanent. Is that the interaction?

    Still, what happened to the Octopus spell? It resolved, it "becomes part of an object on the battlefield"(721.2b), and it "does not enter the battlefield"(702.139c). But it's still an object, so if it's not in any zone, it's outside the game (400.11). Which rule has the exception due to mutate? Is it an object that's not a permanent? Is it not an object yet a card? Is it inside the game not in a zone?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Reacting to combat steps
    It's all correct. You can cast in the declare attackers step after observing the resolution of Ceratops' ability, because you always get priority once before an advancement in the turn, step or phase.

    Gaining control of the two creatures removes them from combat, but this is not prejudice to their entering combat right away as blockers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copies of Chrome Mox
    When Copy Artifact enters the battlefield, it has the imprint ability of Chrome Mox, which will trigger for that enchantment. If you exile a colored card with that trigger, then the mana ability will be able to produce mana.

    You are correct at least that the copy's functionality has nothing to do with the other Mox's exiled card.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Utopia Sprawl vs. Stifle
    The enchantment is producing the mana, but you can't Stifle it. I am curious what the link is you think exists there.

    Stifle can't target mana abilities, because in the first place, Utopia Sprawl's ability is never on the Stack. It resolves instantly with the mana ability that triggered it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Multiple triggers and priority
    There is no card Chandra's Inferno. Is this something that deals 8 damage to a player? Or just to Kokusho?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Required to sacrifice but can't
    The effects of a spell don't restrict you when you are casting it. You only need to ask yourself if you can choose a mode for a modal spell, if you can choose appropriate targets, and if you can pay the spell's cost.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on How Do Counterspells Impact Muldrotha's Ability To Play Cards From The Graveyard?
    Your opponent cast the card. That counts as having cast the card. Countering happens after that and does not erase the past. Muldrotha's use for that card type this turn is used up.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cloning and Mutate
    Quote from eyecornerfast »
    Hey all. I have a follow-up question on this topic. Would a Clone also copy the value of the number of times the original creature has mutated? Or is that value set by the number of physical cards stacked under the top card?

    If I'm not mistaken, the count of number of mutations is "impossible to fake", since those cards will always come into the pile* and stay there so long as the permanent exists. Effectively yes, you can just count the pile.

    (It's not technically a pile.)

    The Clone neither truly mutated, nor does it have a collection of "merged components".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Until End of Turn lose control
    Those effects will end as the current turn ends - the turn in which the effect began.

    The effects are flagged, let's say, with a marker that their duration is "[for] this turn" or "until end of turn", and in every turn, an unskippable final component of the procedure is to end all effects with that marker. (see CR 514. Cleanup Step)

    Lightning Serpent doesn't have an effect that goes until end of turn. The counters it receives are instantaneous (called "one-shot" officially); the death it brings to itself is the result of a triggered ability. It's totally different.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Current issues with the comprehensive rules of Magic
    Ram Through doesn't work.

    Self-replacement effects are defined as replacement effects, even though they function basically not like them (CR614.15). Because of this, there is no place for Ram Through's self-replacement to, in fact, express how damage is dealt. In the hierarchy in CR 120.4, replacement effects are considered after the like of excess damage determinations. Ram Through is told by 614.15 to work as a replacement effect, in step 2, where the 'excess' term has no application.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.