Quote from MadMageQc »My comment was #5, and peteroupc's edit was before I posted it. #3 is the one with your thanks to him.
I am not directly contradicting what he said: it is valid from a strict Comprehensive Rules point of view. As I said, if your event isn't sanctioned and thus isn't covered by the Magic Tournament Rules, you can bring his explanation to the organizers to convince them that by the rules, you should be allowed to do what you want, and you'd probably have a convincing argument. It's just that if they refuse to allow it, with the event not being sanctioned, you have no recourse.
Quote from peteroupc »EDIT: Expanded on last sentence after comment 3 was posted.