2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Jund
    Quote from Aazadan »

    In short, is LtLH almost always a one-of in Mainboard or is there benefit to considering upping her to x2 to attempt to "poor-mans" replace LoTV?


    I think you're not asking the question the right way. Sure, they're both 3 mana Lilianas, but they do very different things. Liliana of the Veil fights opponents going tall while Liliana, the Last Hope fights opponents going wide. So if you run for example a 3/2 split you'll also want to adjust other cards in your deck. A second last Hope might mean less Pulse and more unconditional kill for example.


    Thank you. I guess I didn't think that through very well. Perhaps I will try a x2 LotV and x2 Last Hope and then try to make up for it with a Terminate or Dreadbore.

    Appreciate it.
    Posted in: Midrange
  • posted a message on Jund
    I am sure this has been asked somewhere in this massive thread before so please forgive me for failing in my search function efforts.

    I am looking to create Jund on somewhat of a budget constraint.
    My question is this:
    I own x2 Liliana of the Veil and x2 Liliana, The Last Hope.
    I see that most lists try to run x3 or x4 LotV and usually only x1 LtLH.
    Since I only own two LotV and two LtLH do you think its best to just run a 2 and 2 split of them or run x2 LotV + x1 LtLH and just substitute some more removal and/or aggro such as Grim Flayer/Tireless Tracker/etc?

    In short, is LtLH almost always a one-of in Mainboard or is there benefit to considering upping her to x2 to attempt to "poor-mans" replace LoTV?

    Related:
    I am also trying out some budget options for Dark Confidant. I realize he's the best he is and holds the price he has for a reason, but only owning 1 copy makes it hard. As such I am running the one copy of Bob and trying x2 Glint-Sleeve Siphoner (which I realize is awful, maybe I cut them altogether?)

    Thanks for your attention and possible replies.
    Posted in: Midrange
  • posted a message on Cauldron of Souls + Sakura Tribe Elder
    Thank you, I assumed this was how it would go.

    Appreciate the fast reply. Smile
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Cauldron of Souls + Sakura Tribe Elder
    I have a Cauldron of Souls on the battlefield along with a Sakura-Tribe Elder.

    At the end of my opponent's turn I decide I want to use Steve's (Sakura-Tribe Elder's) ability to ramp myself. My goal is to use Steve's ability twice for two lands.

    I start by activating Cauldron of Souls choosing Sakura-Tribe Elder for persist.
    Then, I activate Steve to search my library for a basic land.
    When Steve dies he will return to the battlefield due to persist with a -1/-1 counter on him.
    During the short time in which he is on the battlefield, before he goes to graveyard for having 0 or less toughness, will I receive priority again to activate his ability and sacrifice him again for another land tutor?

    Thanks for looking and responding.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Copying Scarab God
    When I do a search for this online, due to The Scarab God's copy ability, I was unable to find the answer I was looking for.

    My opponent has The Scarab God on the battlefield.
    I cast Clone - choosing to have it enter as a copy of The Scarab God.
    My opponent kills my copied The Scarab God. Scarab God's final ability sets up a delayed trigger (I presume) to return it from your graveyard to your hand at the next end step.
    However, my Scarab God is now a Clone in my graveyard. Does this mean the delayed trigger does nothing at end step or do I get my Clone back to my hand from graveyard?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Priority - Lantern Control
    Okay, thank you both for walking me through this.

    Sorry for asking for strategy advice and also asking questions that are not strictly rules questions.

    This helps my understanding.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Priority - Lantern Control
    A situation, which would be a good teaching moment involving priority, arose last night when playing against my friend’s Lantern Control deck for the first time.

    I was on Bogles (lol, right?) and my opponent had a Lantern of Insight and x2 Codex Shredder untapped and in play.

    On top of my library was a useless Forest. I had a Kor Spiritdancer in play. My plan was to use the Spiritdancer’s draw ability to attempt to dig beyond that Forest on top my deck. Using a fetch to remove that Forest.

    I decided to cast a Hyena Umbra targeting my Slippery Bogle to trigger Kor Spiritdancer’s draw ability. With that trigger on the stack I cracked one of my fetch lands to shuffle away the Forest on top my deck.

    I asked my opponent for a response. He declined, which resolved the fetch land ability. The forest shuffles away and up pops a Nature's Claim on top of my library. Now I am wanting my Kor Spiritdancer draw ability, next on the stack, to resolve. But this, of course, is where my opponent decides to activate the Codex Shredder to mill it. I assume he can do this even though he had no response to the initial trigger of Kor Spiritdancer and also had no response to my fetch, because before anything resolves we need to go through both passes of priority, myself and then my opponent, yes?

    Assuming yes, he mills it away and then up flips another good card, lets say a Stony Silence. Now, with the Kor Spiritdancer’s ability yet again still waiting to resolve he has priority again to activate another ability to mill this as well?

    I imagine this is just the power of the Lantern Control lock that I need to get used to?


    At the time of the match I was (very likely mistakenly) convinced that: because my opponent said okay (passed priority) on the resolution of the Kor Spiritdancer draw and then again on the fetch land activation, that meant he has now given up his chance to respond to a new card flipping up. You can’t really respond to something like your top library card being revealed. (While we’re on that topic, you cannot respond to mana being tapped either, yes?)

    But now I am starting to realize that, because I activated that fetch he has a new chance at responding to Kor Spiritdancer’s draw trigger, simply because we must go through a round of “I pass priority, you now have it, what do you do?” for each item on the stack.

    I guess the question here is, can you explain to me how this situation should play out? Assuming I took the actions I described.
    And then offer any advice on how to best play around that Lantern Control lock - (valid advice would include: “accept your fate that you are playing against Lantern Control and you have almost no out given the facts you described”)

    Thank you for taking the time.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Revolt - Renegade Rallier
    Okay thank you for the clarification on the upkeep.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Revolt - Renegade Rallier
    Thank you! Much appreciated. =)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Revolt - Renegade Rallier
    Assume I have a Séance and a Sakura-Tribe Elder on the battlefield. I have a Renegade Rallier in my graveyard.

    At the beginning of my upkeep Séance will trigger and I will target Renegade Rallier to be made into a token and come to the battlefield.

    As I understand it the first time I will have priority during the upkeep step is in response to a "at the beginning of upkeep" trigger or at the end of the upkeep step.

    Can I, in response to the Séance trigger targeting Renegade Rallier to return, sacrifice my Sakura-Tribe Elder in order to trigger Revolt such that when my Rallier enters the battlefield Revolt will be active?

    Thank you for any responses.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on [Primer] G/W Auras (Bogle)
    Thanks guys, I think this will help me.
    Here is looking forward to my first Jund win in the coming weeks. Cheers.
    Posted in: Aggro & Tempo
  • posted a message on [Primer] G/W Auras (Bogle)
    I greatly appreciate the help and advice, FoodChain.

    I think I had some of the right ideas about combating Jund, but the water was very murky. I see it much more clearly now.

    Here is one last bit of clarification required:
    Assuming my opponent is still Jund, what do I side out? Typically speaking.
    That's at least 6 cards I need to make room for.
    I know that they pack tons of removal, so does that mean Kor Spiritdancer leaves? Do I get rid of Path to Exiles and accept my beats and their Bob card advantage?

    Thanks for the info!
    Posted in: Aggro & Tempo
  • posted a message on [Primer] G/W Auras (Bogle)
    Anyone got Jund sideboard and general match-up advice?

    These are my issues in order:
    Do I have a keepable hand? (Bogles variance) - keeping in mind that you can only use Bogle or Elf since 100% of the time your Kor Spiritdancer will taste a Lightning Bolt.
    I keep my hand of land, Slippery Bogle, aura - turn one - assuming I'm on the draw - I am Inquisition of Kozilek'd - I lose my creature. Scoop.
    Assume I keep a creature and even get an aura attached. Liliana of the Veil ends all your plans. I know the fetch for Dryad Arbor trick, but this only gets you so far and isn't always available.
    Assume you dodge the Inquisition and Liliana problems. Now you have Abrupt Decay and Maelstrom Pulse to wreck your board. (Yes I have Leyline of Sanctity, but they are usually destroyed or they just Decay your individual auras)
    Is Rest in Peace appropriate here? We know they like their Tarmogoyf's huge and they like they Scavenging Ooze big. So this means x4 Leyline of Sanctity and x2 or x3 Rest in Peace almost universally?

    I see write ups in this thread talking frequently about Jund wins as though they are 50% or better win chances.
    Why am I utterly destroyed by Jund, every time?

    Note that my decklist is as traditional as they come with the one exception being Horizon Canopy. I will never afford them even if reprinted.

    Any help is appreciated.

    One other question of completely general advice regardless of match-up. (Or maybe the answer is match-up dependent, you tell me?)
    What is the correct play with Kor Spiritdancer?
    Do you slam her on turn two knowing full well she likely dies?
    Or
    Do you wait for at least 3 mana, slowing yourself hard, but ensuring she replaces herself by getting a draw on your aura?
    Posted in: Aggro & Tempo
  • posted a message on [Primer] Collected Company Elves
    Thanks for the reply!

    Do you mean x8 Fetch (such as x4 Windswept Heath and x4 Wooded Foothills)

    Or do you mean x4 Windswept Heath and x4 Overgrown Tomb?
    Posted in: Modern Archives
  • posted a message on [Primer] Collected Company Elves
    Hello fellow Elves!

    I am in the process of building this deck and feel like I need the punch that Shaman of the Pack provides.
    Previously I was attempting a Green/White build similar to the OP of this primer.

    My problem with Green/Black is that I only own a single copy of Gilt-Leaf Palace and only one Cavern of Souls.
    I am here seeking advice on correcting the manabase with this handicap in mind.

    My only thought was to go the "fetch into Overgrown Tombs" route - however I don't own any Verdant Catacombs and likely never will until their mythical reprint.
    I do own a playset of:
    Windswept Heath and Wooded Foothills.

    Perhaps I can craft a manabase of x3 Overgrown Tomb with x4 Windswept Heath to fetch them? Supplemented with x1 Cavern of Souls and x1 Gilt-Leaf Palace?

    Any help here would be appreciated.
    Thanks.
    Posted in: Modern Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.