2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Standard Bearer + Protection
    Quote from lax2u2 »
    I've read the thread about Standard Bearer + Shroud and my question is if the same applies for protection. For example if I had a Standard Bearer enchanted with a cho-manno's blessing naming the color red, if an opponent tried to lightning bolt me would the spell technically try to target standard bearer and fizzle because its protected or how would that work? Thanks!

    Protection from red will exclude the Standard Bearer from the list of legal targets for Lightning Bolt and other red targeted spells and abilities from red sources. As such any such spell or ability is free to target anything else. The Bearer's ability is essentially shut down due to protection.

    edit:
    Also, it seems you are misunderstanding the Bearer's ability. It does not redirect targets, it necessitates to choose it as a target in the first place.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Overloading Cyclonic Rift
    No, you cannot. Both the Augury and the Djinn impose an alternative cost of "without paying the mana cost", and you have to cast the spell with that cost or not at all when using their effects. Overload is also an alternative cost, and the rules say, that you can only cast a spell via one alternative cost. The choice of which one has been taken by both cards.

    118.9 Some spells have alternative costs. An alternative cost is a cost listed in a spell’s text, or applied to it from another effect, that its controller may pay rather than paying the spell’s mana cost. Alternative costs are usually phrased, “You may [action] rather than pay [this object’s] mana cost,” or “You may cast [this object] without paying its mana cost.” Note that some alternative costs are listed in keywords; see rule 702.

    118.9a Only one alternative cost can be applied to any one spell as it’s being cast. The controller of the spell announces their intentions to pay that cost as described in rule 601.2b.

    702.95a Overload is a keyword that represents two static abilities that function while the spell with overload is on the stack. Overload [cost] means “You may choose to pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost” and “If you chose to pay this spell’s overload cost, change its text by replacing all instances of the word ‘target’ with the word ‘each.’” Casting a spell using its overload ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Divergent Transformations, Thassa's Oracle, and Leveler
    Quote from Halfbrows »
    Okay! So a debate has arisen amongst my group. Let's say I cast Divergent Transformations targeting two of my own creatures, and the only other two creatures I have in my deck are Thassa's Oracle and Leveler. Does the order in which they're revealed matter, or can I stack their triggers as I choose? Based on the card and it's ruling, I assume they enter individually, and the etbs stack in that order, but others say I'd get to choose the order in which the stack. help?

    Wether several triggers go off in sequence or simultaneously during the resolution of a spell/ability, they have to wait. And then later when a player would get priority, all waiting triggers are put on the stack. If multiple of those are controlled by the same player, that player gets to choose their relative order on the stack. So in your scenario, you get to choose the order.

    edit:
    117.2a Triggered abilities can trigger at any time, including while a spell is being cast, an ability is being activated, or a spell or ability is resolving. (See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”) However, nothing actually happens at the time an ability triggers. Each time a player would receive priority, each ability that has triggered but hasn’t yet been put on the stack is put on the stack. See rule 117.5.

    603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.


    edit:
    Here's a link to the card tag thread
    https://www.mtgsalvation.com/forums/community-forums/community-discussion/576824-the-mtg-salvation-tag-explanation-thread
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lithoform Engine Copying Mana Abilities
    Mana abilities don't use the stack, rather, they resolve immediately upon activation. Also, you can only target spells and abilities while they are on the stack, and as mentioned, mana abilities don't go on the stack. So, since Lithoform engine's abilities cannot be used on mana abilities already, there's no need to make them explicitly exempt.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 10/21 Random Card of the Day: Staff of Nin
    Those heinous fishermen really had it coming.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Preventing Sorcery Speed Effects with Mana Abilities
    Quote from grishnakh »
    [...]However, Player B can activate mana abilities before that even though they do not have priority, [...]

    No, he cannot. Unless an effect or cost asks for a mana payment, activated mana abilities can also only be activated while having priority.

    605.3 Activating an activated mana ability follows the rules for activating any other activated ability (see rule 602.2), with the following exceptions:

    605.3a A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever they have priority, whenever they are casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if it’s in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.
    [...]
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rise of the tides: how many ?
    You are not required to use token cards to represent tokens. Any small object will do, like dice, coins, unsleeved cards, sleeves without cards, glass beads, strips of paper, etc. The only requirement is, that the game state is and remains clear to all players. So, as long as all players agree that your representation of the tokens is sufficient, you can use anything. (Within reason, of course. Live kittens would not be a good choice, for example.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Pariah I control on a Stuffy Doll with me named. What happens with damage here?
    Quote from chaikov »
    Quote from Rezzahan »
    No player is forced to break the loop, even if they have the means to do so, since those means are not part of the loop.
    This rule has been a puzzle for me for a long time.
    Rule 722.5 clearly states that no player is required to break the loop, even if they have the means to do so, as long as such means are outside the loop.
    And rule 722.3 clearly states that a player is required to end the loop if they can do so from inside the loop.

    What boggles my mind is rule 722.6, which states a somewhat arbitrary exception to rule 722.3.
    I'd be very appreciative if anyone could provide some examples illustrating how it actually differs from what is said by rule 722.3.

    Specifically, how do the words
    'if no player chooses to perform [B]' (722.6)
    actually allow a player to escape
    'must then make a different game choice' (722.3)?
    Does it solely rely on the fact that the effect actually contains the word 'unless'?
    Any volunteer?


    722.6 does indeed appear to arbitrarily fly in the face of 722.3. According to 118.12a, "Do A unless B" is a choice. Why that kind of choice is made exempt I can't understand either. I can't find any justification for it. But as long as 722.6 exists, that's how the game works.
    118.12a Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, “[Do something] unless [a player does something else].” This means the same thing as “[A player may do something else]. If [that player doesn’t], [do something].”
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Rule 506.4b Year of Implementation
    Prior to the 6th edition major rules overhaul, tapped blockers didn't deal combat damage. Ever since 6th edition they do. Tapping a blocker, however, has never removed it from combat, nor made a blocked creature unblocked, far as I know. So this rule has been around since the release of 6th edition in April of 1999.

    Here's a link to the MTG wiki, where the 6th edition rules changes are listed. Scroll down to combat near the bottom:
    https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Sixth_Edition/Rules_changes
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Pariah I control on a Stuffy Doll with me named. What happens with damage here?
    Yes, that is a mandatory loop, with no choices offered by the pieces to break it. So if no one can break the loop with outside pieces, or doesn't want to do so, the game is a draw. No player is forced to break the loop, even if they have the means to do so, since those means are not part of the loop.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Volrath and Scute Swarm
    Correct, provided that you control 6+ lands when the landfall trigger resolves.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Multiple Phylaths and big Plants
    Yes
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Multiple Phylaths and big Plants
    Regarding 2)
    While you will get four landfall triggers as peteroupc said, none of them will remain on the stack long enough to be even responded to, unless you already control a Plant. They are removed immediately upon being put on the stack, because they each require targets, and with no Plants under your control when the triggers are put on the stack, there are no legal targets. That you will get some Plants "real soon" doesn't matter, they are not there yet to be targeted. So the answer is 4 triggers and no counters.

    603.3d The remainder of the process for putting a triggered ability on the stack is identical to the process for casting a spell listed in rules 601.2c–d. If a choice is required when the triggered ability goes on the stack but no legal choices can be made for it, or if a rule or a continuous effect otherwise makes the ability illegal, the ability is simply removed from the stack.

    601.2c The player announces their choice of an appropriate object or player for each target the spell requires. A spell may require some targets only if an alternative or additional cost (such as a kicker cost) or a particular mode, was chosen for it; otherwise, the spell is cast as though it did not require those targets. Similarly, a spell may require alternative targets only if an alternative or additional cost was chosen for it. If the spell has a variable number of targets, the player announces how many targets they will choose before they announce those targets. In some cases, the number of targets will be defined by the spell’s text. Once the number of targets the spell has is determined, that number doesn’t change, even if the information used to determine the number of targets does. The same target can’t be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word “target” on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word “target” in multiple places, the same object or player can be chosen once for each instance of the word “target” (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). If any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target, the player chooses targets so that they obey the maximum possible number of such effects without violating any rules or effects that say that an object or player can’t be chosen as a target. The chosen objects and/or players each become a target of that spell. (Any abilities that trigger when those objects and/or players become the target of a spell trigger at this point; they’ll wait to be put on the stack until the spell has finished being cast.)


    If you do already control one or more Plant, then they altogether will get a total of only 4x4=16 counters.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 10/21 Random Card of the Day: Staff of Nin
    Quote from Selvaxri »
    I think that's the second longest title print on an actual card [not counting the Longest card name in magic the gathering just to mess with the R&D in Unglued, or whatever it's title was.]

    No, not even close. It's "just" 25 symbols. Not even doing a sophisticated search, I've found several cards with 26+ symbols in the name. The longest of those has 29: Adriana, Captain of the Guard.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Graft and The Ozolith Interaction Rulings
    It keeps the counter. The graft trigger doesn't target.You are simply offered the choice to move the counter or not onto the entering creature when the trigger resolves. And with the creature gone, you can't chose the move option anymore, so the counter stays.

    702.57a Graft represents both a static ability and a triggered ability. “Graft N” means “This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it” and “Whenever another creature enters the battlefield, if this permanent has a +1/+1 counter on it, you may move a +1/+1 counter from this permanent onto that creature.”

    Notice the lack of the word "target", which is the one and only thing that makes a spell/ability targeted.

    Also note, that your step 3) cannot happen at that time as that choice is made upon resolution, not at the time of triggering. You are proposing a shortcut here, which your opponent rejected by responding.

    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.