2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Liquimetal Coating and Viridian Revel
    Yes and yes. Leaves-the-battlefield triggers trigger based on the game state right before the event rather than after. This is an exception to the rule. So the game sees an artifact going to the graveyard even though the new object in the graveyard doesn't have the artifact type.

    603.10 Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

    603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

    603.6c Leaves-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent moves from the battlefield to another zone, or when a phased-in permanent leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. These are written as, but aren’t limited to, “When [this object] leaves the battlefield, . . .” or “Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . .” (See also rule 603.10.) An ability that attempts to do something to the card that left the battlefield checks for it only in the first zone that it went to. An ability that triggers when a card is put into a certain zone “from anywhere” is never treated as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, even if an object is put into that zone from the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Scorched Earth X cost
    All Xs have the same value, whereever they appear on the card. So with X=2 chosen, you have to discard 2 lands cards and pay 2R.

    107.3a If a spell or activated ability has a mana cost, alternative cost, additional cost, and/or activation cost with an {X}, [-X], or X in it, and the value of X isn’t defined by the text of that spell or ability, the controller of that spell or ability chooses and announces the value of X as part of casting the spell or activating the ability. (See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”) While a spell is on the stack, any X in its mana cost or in any alternative cost or additional cost it has equals the announced value. While an activated ability is on the stack, any X in its activation cost equals the announced value.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Obzedat, Ghost Council / Body Double
    Obzedat, Ghost Council
    Body Double

    Yes it will have haste, but not because of a previous effect, but rather because "It gains haste" is part of the delayed trigger returning the Double.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on 9/18 Random Card of the Day: Kess, Dissident Mage
    A 3/3 flyer for 2 mana, that also gives flying to all your creatures is quite the deal. Problem is, that you need to give it flying first, and that's where Kamigawa didn't deliver, there simply wasn't anything worth playing on its own to make that happen. Today we have things like Maximize Altitude and Soaring Seacliff that could be quite useful on their own. Probably the best cheap way to do so, however, in my opinion is a turn 1 Wingcrafter bonding to the Student on turn 2, so that the Master can be born right away.
    Posted in: Casual & Multiplayer Formats
  • posted a message on Yarok and new choose lands
    Thriving Grove doesn't have any triggered ablities, so Yarok has nothing to make trigger twice. What the Grove has is a static ability that creates a replacement effect. A triggered ability always uses the words "when", "whenever" or "at". If neither of those words is present, you are not dealing with a triggered ability.

    113.3c Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[Trigger condition], [effect],” and include (and usually begin with) the word “when,” “whenever,” or “at.” Whenever the trigger event occurs, the ability is put on the stack the next time a player would receive priority and stays there until it’s countered, it resolves, or it otherwise leaves the stack. See rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities.”

    614.1c Effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” “As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ,” or “[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . ” are replacement effects.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on narset parter of veils + curious obsession
    Yes, the trigger goes on the stack. The game doesn't look into the future and it doesn't assume that Narset will still be there when the trigger resolves. For the game the Now matters. So until the trigger resolves and the player has to decide to draw or not, Narset's presence is irrelevant. But since Narset is present at that time, the choice to draw cannot be made if a card was drawn already that turn by that player. If Narset is gone at that time, her ability doesn't matter anymore, and the player can draw a card.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Another regeneration question
    Also note, as Argus has outlined in his post, that you have to activate the regeneration ability before the creature would get destroyed, so in the declare blockers step at the latest. In order for regeneration to occur, the regeneration "shield" has to be present at the time the destruction would happen. And for that, the regeneration ability has to resolve before the destruction event happens.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Phasing - Will triggered abilities on stack of phased-out permanent resolve?
    We have a dedicated rules forum for this kind of question.

    Since the Deputy didn't actually leave the battlefield, it just phased out, the condition for ending the exiling is not met, thus the effect didn't end before it began. So the effect happens when the Deputes trigger resolves, and Teferi is exiled until the Deputy leaves he battlefield. A trigger's resolution does not depend on its source still being around. Though if the Deputy actually left the battlefield, its trigger would do nothing as its effect ended before it began.

    610.3 Some one-shot effects cause an object to change zones “until” a specified event occurs. A second one-shot effect is created immediately after the specified event. This second one-shot effect returns the object to its previous zone.

    610.3a If the specified event has already occurred when the initial one-shot effect would cause the object to change zones, the object doesn’t move.
    702.25d The phasing event doesn’t actually cause a permanent to change zones or control, even though it’s treated as though it’s not on the battlefield and not under its controller’s control while it’s phased out. Zone-change triggers don’t trigger when a permanent phases in or out. Tokens continue to exist on the battlefield while phased out. Counters remain on a permanent while it’s phased out. Effects that check a phased-in permanent’s history won’t treat the phasing event as having caused the permanent to leave or enter the battlefield or its controller’s control.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lazav, the Multifarious + Underworld Sentinel + Exiling
    No, that doesn't work. Underworld Sentinel has what's called linked abilities, only the cards exiled with the first ability will be affected by its second ability. Exiled cards with that permanent by any other means will not be affected by that ability. This is true for a Lazav-copy of it as well.

    607.1 An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects or players to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions, objects, or players. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects or players that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.
    [...]

    607.2 There are different kinds of linked abilities.

    607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to “the exiled cards” or to cards “exiled with [this object],” these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.
    [...]
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on A question between this 2 cards.
    Such questions are better asked in the rules forum. You'll get answers much quicker.

    Vorapede
    The Ozolith

    First, with a +1/+1 counter on vorapede its undying ability will not trigger. It has to have no +1/+1 counters at the time of its death for that to happen.

    Second, even though The Ozolith says to move the counters, it still just means to put the same number and type of counters on Ozolith that the leaving creature had. Those are new counters, not the same ones.

    So in conclusion, in your scenario The Ozolith gets a +1/+1 counter from Vorapede leaving the battlefield, and Vorapede stays in the graveyard.

    Also, if Vorapede had for example a -1/-1 counter instead, both triggers would go off at the same time since they trigger off of the same event. And they are put on the stack at the same time. So you go from no trigger on the stack to two triggers on the stack. You don't wait for one to resolve before putting the next one on. If you control both triggers (which in this scenario you do) you can choose their order on the stack and thus the order in which they resolve via LIFO (Last In First Out), so resolution happens in reverse order.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Questions on Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo
    Sidenote, though it might just have been a typo, bushido 1 gives +1/+1 when the creature blocks or is being blocked, making a blocking Opal-Eye a 2/5.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Champion and Persist
    And yes, +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters on a creature annihilate each other 1:1 as a state based action. Those are the only types of counters for which that is the case.

    Note, that if a creature with +1/+1 counters dies due to having its toughness reduced to 0 or less by -1/-1 counters, it dies with both types of counters, and neither undying nor persist will trigger for it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Triomes in Dual Colors
    You cannot include lands that have a basic land type that doesn't correspond to your commander's color identity. So no, since the triomes have three basic land types, they cannot be played in a two colored commander deck.

    903.5d A card with a basic land type may be included in a Commander deck only if each color of mana it could produce is included in the commander’s color identity.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wort Raidmother questions / Copy spells in general questions
    Well, you can get a copy for each instance of the conspire ability on the spell by tapping two creatures of appropriate colors for each. So if Wort gives conspire to a red or green instant/sorcery of yours, that already has conspire, or you somehow manage control two Worts, you can conspire twice.

    702.77b If a spell has multiple instances of conspire, each is paid separately and triggers based on its own payment, not any other instance of conspire.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Verdant and Counters
    You will gain life equal to the toughness of the entering creature as it is at the time the trigger resolves. So not only do you get life for each +1/+1 counter on the Hydra, you can even increase the toughness further in response to the trigger with stuff like Giant Growth and gain even more life. Similarly, an opponent can decrease the life gain by reducing the creature's toughness with Last Gasp or similar.

    If the entering creature is gone by the time the trigger resolves, the game uses last known information about it, meaning you gain as much life as that creature's toughness was at its last moment on the battlefield. If it was killed by having its toughness reduced to 0 or less, then you gain no life.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.