- Registered User
Member for 4 years, 1 month, and 23 days
Last active Mon, Feb, 22 2021 22:15:23
- 0 Followers
- 45 Total Posts
- 0 Thanks
Feb 22, 2021So I'm looking for further inspiration for an Alesha, Who Smiles at Death commander deck. I was wondering if Boast abilities could be activated when the creature comes in tapped and attacking. I know that it skips over triggers that would only trigger when a creature is declared as an attacker. However, Boast looks different to me since it looks like an activated ability that works as long as the creature attacked that turn.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Anyway, say I bring back Varragoth, Bloodsky Sire with Alesha, Who Smiles at Death tapped and attacking. Can I activate Varragoth's Boast ability?
Feb 18, 2021NavoMan posted a message on Dumb question having to do with color/text changing effects.Thank you sir, I'll just change red to blue on my cards in Orvar from now on. lol I'll make sure of the wording on each spell first of course.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Feb 18, 2021NavoMan posted a message on Dumb question having to do with color/text changing effects.Can you change the color/text of a card by effects (like Sleight of Mind for example) into the original color/text?Posted in: Magic Rulings
This came up in a game where I was testing my new Orvar, the All-Form commander deck. I wanted to make a copy of my Sapphire Medallion targeting it with Sleight of Mind. Then I realized that I might have to change the color Sapphire Medallion reduces the cost of to another color besides blue. Can I copy it with Orvar without having to change the text of the Metallion in this case?
Jul 11, 2020This is a short question compared to my others.Posted in: Magic Rulings
If I lose the game, and Lich's Mirror's trigger goes onto the stack, can I use Teferi's Protection in response to phase out my permanents so they don't get shuffled due to Lich's Mirror?
May 12, 2020First I've heard of this. I always thought that "if" also implies a trigger. Especially since the two effects are in "cause, effect" format.Posted in: Magic Rulings
You still haven't really answered my question though. Does this work?
May 12, 2020Maybe I shouldn't have given an example for comparison, because you completely missed my question.Posted in: Magic Rulings
I'll ask it again in one sentence.
Do the token copies of Ugin's Nexus trigger whenever they are exiled?
May 12, 2020I was working on a Traxos, Scourge of Kroog colorless commander deck and realized that I had no way to take extra turns, or combat steps for Helm of the Host to trigger multiple times. So I came up with a way to take infinite turns in colorless without using Mindslaver. I'm just making sure it works the way I think it does before building the deck.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Panharmonicon and Mirrorworks are in play as well as an infinite mana source. I have Ancestral Statue and Ugin's Nexus in my hand. I cast Ugin's Nexus, Mirrorworks triggers twice due to Panharmonicon, I pay for both to make two copies of Urgin's Nexus. Due to legend rule, I keep the original, and sacrifice the copies which are both exiled instead, giving me two extra turns after this one. The original would make me skip those turns, so I cast Ancestral Statue, which will trigger twice due to Panharmonicon. I then target both the Ancestral Statue, and the Ugin's Nexus to return them to my hand.
Side note, without cost reducers, this full combo cycle would cost 13 mana, so it's not as expensive as it sounds.
I'm looking for feedback regarding rules to make sure this works. The part I'm not sure about are the token copies of Ugin's Nexus. If a copy of an object goes to the graveyard it triggers any and all death triggers before vanishing from the graveyard. If a copy of a card had a trigger that read "whenever [card name] dies, you may exile it from the graveyard. If you do..." then it would vanish before you are able to exile it. Ugin's Nexus however, has a replacement effect that basically reads that it goes directly into exile, and never touches the graveyard. I'm not sure if the copies would trigger before vanishing since they are exiled.
Apr 13, 2020The exactness of the stack triggers gave me a chuckle, but yeah, that's the idea, and thank you. I already modded the deck to include Hatching Plans, and Claws of Gix for another way to ditch Hatching Plans in case I don't draw Sawtusk Demolisher, or Beast Within. Mind you, I do plan on using them to destroy my opponent's stuff too, but I wanted to use them for myself as well. Also included a Darksteel Ingot as a Sawtusk Demolisher target since that wouldn't require Boneyard Lurker.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Side note in case you have any input. I was considering the possibility of running Peer Pressure to gain control of the beast tokens I create for my opponents. The deck is running Eternal Witness and copy cards, so it could be reused. I was also thinking about running Seasons Past for additional recursion. Thank you for any thoughts you have on the matter.
Apr 13, 2020That is basically what I was expecting to hear though disappointing.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Ok, so same scenario, but with Sol Ring getting blown up for a beast token. Then cast Hatching Plans and mutate Orimi, the Ever-Playful again to blow up Hatching Plans for a beast token AND return Sol Ring to my hand. This event would basically insure that I have 1 Sawtusk Demolisher target and 1 Boneyard Lurker target each time I mutate. This works, correct?
Apr 13, 2020So I'm working on an Otrimi, the Ever-Playful beast tribal deck concept on tappedout when I found an interesting interaction that I want to confirm if it works, or not. Here's the board state, Otrimi, the Ever-Playful currently has Boneyard Lurker mutated under it. There's also a Wirewood Savage and a Primeval Bounty in play, but they aren't relevant to my question, just showing you why I would want to do this.Posted in: Magic Rulings
I first cast Sol Ring and put 3 +1/+1 counters on Otrimi, the Ever-Playful with Primeval Bounty. Then I cast Sawtusk Demolisher for its mutate cost targeting Otrimi, the Ever-Playful making a 3/3 beast token with Primeval Bounty and drawing a card with Wirewood Savage. Once it resolves the mutate triggers go on the stack.
Here's what I want to do. Just let me know if it works. I want to put Boneyard Lurker on the stack first then Sawtusk Demolisher. The Sawtusk Demolisher destroys my own Sol Ring giving me a 3/3 beast token and drawing a card off of Wirewood Savage. Then the Boneyard Lurker trigger returns that Sol Ring to my hand allowing me to cast it again to put 3 more +1/+1 counters on Otrimi, the Ever-Playful with Primeval Bounty.
I've been told by people before that you have to select targets for triggers as they are placed on the stack, so I'm like 50% sure this works. It would definitely work if I had another artifact to juggle with Sol Ring, or maybe even Hatching Plans, but that's iffy.
Feb 11, 2020So recently I decided to build a deck that includes some of the silliest combos I've seen in the past few years. I'm talking about Moonmist transforming Azor's Gateway while March of the Machines is out and Mirror Entity makes everything all creature types. While testing the deck on Tappedout I realized that Thing in the Ice synergies well with the combo as it auto transforms and it doesn't bounce my creatures since Mirror Entity made them all creature types which includes Horror.Posted in: Magic Rulings
Then I cast Moonmist again for another card and realized that Awoken Horror could possibly transform back into Thing in the Ice from the effect of Moonmist since it's still a Human thanks to Mirror Entity.
So my question is if Awoken Horror can transform back if these special conditions are met.
Jan 22, 2020Pretty sure it's not a cost. Cost is what comes before the colon in an activated ability, or when you have to pay additional costs in order to cast a spell. In Gallia's case it's just part of her triggered ability. In no way is it a cost.Posted in: Magic Rulings
I reread the rules you sent, but I've never heard of consequences of triggered abilities referred to as costs. I would like a second opinion to clarify, because I spent all morning building this deck on tappedout. I'd like to know that I didn't waste my time.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.