A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on Chance For Glory Twice??
    The only feasible way to counter that game loss is with an effect like that of Time Stop.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Dash cost & Commander tax
    I would note that you can’t cast a commander from the command zone using Ninjutsu. That ability does require the card to be in your hand, and casting a commander from your hand neither invokes nor increases the commander tax.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Recurring Nightmare, Summoning Sickness
    Quote from the_jevry »
    you can however sacrifice the creature during the end step before your turn begins since there isn't a tap ability involved (like svannahlion said, this is assuming reccuring nightmare somehow isn't restricted to sorcery speed)


    No, you can’t. The card itself restricts the ability to sorcery speed, and thus can only be activated on your turn during a main phase while the stack is empty and you have priority.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Destroying a new creature before blockers?
    Yeah, keep in mind it is still in beta. Bugs like this are bound to come up. It is strange though that it wouldn't allow you to do that, as the game forces you to click a button to continue the turn whenever you have an instant you can cast with valid targets. It might be a coding issue specifically with Assassin's Trophy.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Boreas charger, searching for less plains
    You can fail to find any of the 5 since the search is for a specific card, or in this case set of cards. So yes, if you do only wish to find 1, then you can find just 1.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Vedalken Humiliator and Akroma's Memorial
    Yes, the memorial continues to apply. The Humiliator only affects your creatures, not your artifacts. Nevermind, Rezzahan is correct.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Kaalia and Aurelia
    Quote from Comp Rules »
    508.4. If a creature is put onto the battlefield attacking, its controller chooses which defending player or which planeswalker a defending player controls it’s attacking as it enters the battlefield (unless the effect that put it onto the battlefield specifies what it’s attacking). Such creatures are “attacking” but, for the purposes of trigger events and effects, they never “attacked.”

    In short, no. Using only those three cards, Relentless Assault would not untap Aurelia, who entered the battlefield tapped because of Kaalia. If you find some way to untap Aurelia, then yes, that would work.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Urza's Incubator and X-costs
    Yes, Urza’s Incubator would do just that. When you cast a spell with an X in its mana cost, you declare the value for X before paying mana. So if you play, for instance, Apocalypse Hydra, you can declare X to be 2, and with the Incubator on the field and Hydra as the chosen creature type, you would only have to pay RG.

    EDIT: It would seem mana symbol tags have changed since I last frequented these forums. Could someone educate me in how to post mana symbols? Thank you.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Lazav and Layers
    Quote from Comp Rules »
    706.4. Some effects cause a permanent that’s copying a permanent to copy a different object while remaining on the battlefield. The change doesn’t trigger enters-the-battlefield or leaves-the-battlefield abilities. This also doesn’t change any noncopy effects presently affecting the permanent. Example: Unstable Shapeshifter reads, “Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, Unstable Shapeshifter becomes a copy of that creature and gains this ability.” It’s affected by Giant Growth, which reads “Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn.” If a creature enters the battlefield later this turn, Unstable Shapeshifter will become a copy of that creature, but it will still get +3/+3 from the Giant Growth.

    In your scenario, Lazav would be a 1/1 flying, vigilance, lifelink creature that has Lazav’s ability to pay X and copy a creature card in your graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Gather Specimens /Containment Priest
    Quote from Comp Rules »
    616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object’s controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).


    616.1b If any of the replacement and/or prevention effects would modify under whose control an object would enter the battlefield, one of them must be chosen. If not, proceed to rule 616.1c.

    616.1d Any of the applicable replacement and/or prevention effects may be chosen.

    616.1e Once the chosen effect has been applied, this process is repeated (taking into account only replacement or prevention effects that would now be applicable) until there are no more left to apply.

    You have to choose to first apply the effect that makes it enter the battlefield under his control, which is irrelevant as then the exiling effect would still apply, exiling both creatures entering the battlefield from the graveyard.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Legend rule and interrupts
    He specified that he’d let the token die. It’s true that either the token or the original could be chosen, but in the OP’s scenario, the token would die due to state based actions before he would have the opportunity to tap it and draw 3.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Hunted Troll and Zedruu?
    Hunted Troll and it’s ilk received errata with the rules change. They now state “target opponent creates”, drastically changing the way the cards function. I find the rules change and errata completely unnecessary, as they result in the exact same game state, but the owner of the tokens is the opponent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Legend rule and interrupts
    No. State based actions will kill it before you can activate abilities, killing the token.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Combat-tap-sacrifice
    I would mention that it’s utterly impossible to stop a player from tapping their land for mana. Even Split Second can’t stop mana abilities. Blowing up a player’s land in response to it activating any ability wouldn’t stop that ability from going on the stack, and you can tap a land for mana even when you don’t have priority. Mana abilities are weird like that.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Each player loses life
    As for the last part of your post, there are many reasons a player would play this. Madness cards ease the discarding, there are numerous creatures that have effects that trigger when they die, and you can play some life gain in your deck to counteract the life loss.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.