A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • posted a message on [Primer] Mono Green Aggro (stompy)
    [Edited - 20 of August](a tapped creatures don't deal ts damage)

    Yes it does. Tapped creatures have dealt their combat damage as normal since Sixth Edition :-P Sometimes Gather Courage is underwhelming, but other times it's completely nuts (casting it by tapping Nettle Sentinel, for example).
    Posted in: Established
  • posted a message on efficiently collecting data about past tournaments
    In this article, JustSin provides a matchup table for a specific constructed tournament, giving each archetype's win/loss against each other archetype over the course of the tournament.

    What is the most efficient way to collect this data? Is anything relevant published, beyond what's on the Magic Online page which gives 3-1's and 4-0's for one daily event for each format for each day? Obviously I don't expect automatic classification of decklists, but I'd like to know if there's any way to get the full breakdown on what each player's decklist is, who they played, and what their match results were.
    Posted in: Other Formats
  • posted a message on rant: show up for your match :-/
    Quote from the_cardfather
    You're saying the game starts and you are 0-2 but the guy isn't there and times out?

    Basically every time. I get the match on my opponent's inactivity. I mean I like free wins and all, but I don't really care about the win once it doesn't affect my ability to win prizes.
    Posted in: Other Formats
  • posted a message on rant: show up for your match :-/
    Personally if I knew my opponent was in and I was out, I'd concede; I'd like it if my opponent did the same if I was in that situation. If you really want to play the match when you're paired up, especially in the last round, I'll gladly challenge you after the event! (After all I'd budgeted the time for the event anyway)
    Posted in: Other Formats
  • posted a message on rant: show up for your match :-/
    Has this been said before? It's probably been said before. Probably no one cares, at least that's what it seems like.

    If I'm in a tournament (say, a constructed daily) and I'm out of the running for prizes (say, I have two losses), and I'm still playing the tournament... guess what? I'm there because I still want to play Magic: the Gathering. If you don't want to play Magic: the Gathering... maybe you could drop?

    Sincerely,
    Every Frustrated 0-2-not-drop player ever.
    Thanks.
    Posted in: Other Formats
  • posted a message on simic manipulator
    Simic Manipulator's ability has a cost of "remove one or more +1/+1 counters from ~", and a targeting restriction that depends on the number of counters removed when the cost was paid. But when activating an ability, targets are chosen before the cost is determined.

    How does this work?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on sylvan primordial faq entry / gatherer ruling
    I figured I'd check, as the FAQ entry doesn't indicate that. Thanks!
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on sylvan primordial faq entry / gatherer ruling
    Sylvan Primordial's FAQ entry says
    You can choose a number of targets up to the number of opponents you have, one target per opponent.
    just like all the other Primordials do. But the phrase on Sylvan that describes its target is missing "up to one" (all the others have it). Doesn't this mean that you *must* choose exactly one target per opponent, and that if you have any opponents that don't control any noncreature permanents, the ability won't go on the stack? (Though if some of the targets are gone by the time it resolves, it will of course resolve normally.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on cyclic olivia
    Hmm, ok.

    I asked the question because I thought I might get responses like that, but my interpretation is that you go through the layers starting from a clean slate each time.

    So when only Threaten is active, you apply Threaten and have control of Olivia.

    When both are applying, you apply Threaten and Olivia, and have control of Olivia.

    When Threaten's effect ends, you check whether to apply Olivia, and can't, because you don't control Olivia.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on cyclic olivia
    I temporarily gain control of my opponent's Olivia Voldaren (e.g., via Threaten). I target Olivia with her own control-changing ability. The temporary effect granting me control wears off (e.g., the turn ends). Do I still control Olivia?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on sac ability during combat phase
    Yes. During the declare blockers step, after the defending player declares blockers, players get priority to cast spells and activate abilities.

    Additionally, in most circumstances where the creature it blocked doesn't have trample, the attacking creature still won't assign damage to you since it was blocked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Sacrificing Fume Spitter
    If, during the declare blockers step ("before damage"), you sacrifice a Fume Spitter that's blocking, under most circumstances the attacker will not assign any damage to you in the combat damage step, since it is still a blocked creature. If the attacker has trample, it will assign damage as though the Fume Spitter never blocked it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on combat
    You will need to assign at least 4 damage to the first Archon in the damage assignment order. When that damage is dealt, that Archon will die, and its ability will trigger. It will resolve before your creature assigns damage in the second combat damage step. If it targeted your creature, it won't assign damage in the second combat damage step at all.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on ORing Question
    That depends on what you mean by "respond with"; specifically, what you are responding to.

    If you cast Altar's Reap while Oblivion Ring is on the stack, then when Oblivion Ring resolves, your opponent will be asked to select a target for Oblivion Ring's triggered ability. At this point, the creature you sacrificed isn't a legal target, so they will choose something else.

    If you cast Altar's Reap while Oblivion Ring's triggered ability is on the stack (and Oblivion Ring is on the battlefield), then the target for that ability has already been chosen. If you sacrifice the permanent that ability targeted, then that ability will be countered on resolution. Oblivion Ring will remain on the battlefield, and if it leaves the battlefield, its other triggered ability will do nothing.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on First Strike + Multiple Blockers
    If a 4/2 first strike is being blocked by two 2/2s, and the controller of the attacking creature assigns 2 damage to each blocking creature, the blocking creatures will be destroyed before the defending player assigns combat damage. At the time they would assign combat damage, they don't control any creatures blocking the 4/2 first strike, so they would not be able to assign any damage to it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.