2019 Holiday Exchange!
 
A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on Psychic Surgery and shuffling?
    The direct answer to your question is a flat "yes", but that's misleading. It will trigger immediately after the opponent shuffles their library, but will wait to go on the stack until after the Tutor finishes resolving.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on time stop during cleanup
    That's what I figured. It's certainly the cleaner interpretation (pun intended).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on time stop during cleanup
    Resolving Time Stop causes (among other things) the game to advance directly to the cleanup step. If Time Stop resolves during the cleanup step, does a new one begin (i.e., "advancing to the cleanup step" actually means beginning a cleanup step), or does the turn actually end right then and there (i.e., "advancing to the cleanup step" means what it says on the tin, and since you're already there the turn is over)?

    Just to imagine some contrived scenario where this might actually happen -- There's a Megrim out, I'm at 2 life, and I have to discard a card during cleanup. I'll Time Stop in response to the trigger to save myself from losing.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Surgically extracting yourself. Madness or brilliance?
    You don't have to get rid of the rats in your hand... Failing to find is an option.

    Granted, that's still just a 2/2 or a pair of 3/3's, but they aren't auto-gone.
    Posted in: Standard Archives
  • posted a message on Tumble Magnet question
    Others are answering the Tumble Magnet question sufficiently, but I thought I'd call attention to this:
    Quote from Kovacs
    so I didn't look into calling a judge since time was tight

    If you are unsure about an interaction, you should always call a judge. If you're worried about time, a time extension can be given of a length equal to the time it took for the judge to respond to the call and answer your question.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Best way to compare to decks?
    I want this to be doable on one line at the UNIX command prompt. If not I think I could get a bash script to do it.
    Posted in: Third Party Products
  • posted a message on gaining control of an attacing creature in the middle of combat phase
    When an attacking or blocking creature changes controllers, it is removed from combat. If you gain control of a creature that's attacking you, it won't be attacking you anymore.

    You are correct; you can declare blockers, then activate Captivating Vampire, and pay its cost by tapping some of your blockers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Could Sumone Plz Explain To Me How Omath. Locus Of Mana Works
    Quote from XxHeroinxBobxX
    2 Green Mana's stay on the field

    This tells me you don't quite have it right.

    Mana are not cards or permanents; they are never on the battlefield. Your mana pool is separate from any game zone. When you tap a Forest, you get a green mana in your mana pool that can be spent on spells and abilities. That green mana is not on the battlefield.

    Mana in your mana pool is cleared out at the end of each step and phase. Omnath tells the game not to do this clearing out for green mana.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Another Theoretical Question
    Sorry, I didn't phrase my answer clearly; by "activate them each once" I mean "activate each of those abilities once".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Another Theoretical Question
    702.54b A forecast ability may be activated only during the upkeep step of the card's owner and only once each turn. The controller of the forecast ability reveals the card with that ability from his or her hand as the ability is activated. That player plays with that card revealed in his or her hand until it leaves the player's hand or until a step or phase that isn't an upkeep step begins, whichever comes first.

    Even if a non-split card had multiple forecast abilities, you'd still be able to activate them each once.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on leveling creatures
    Leveler creatures have two things about them that make them special. They have level up, which is an activated ability that puts level counters on them, and they have the funny striped frame and level symbols. Level symbols mean "As long as this creature has [range of numbers] level counters on it, it's [power/toughness] and has [abilities]."

    Neither level up or the level symbol mean "This creature enters the battlefield with a level counter on it".
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Vesuva
    It copies all characteristics of the object it copies. One of the characteristics is its supertype(s). Vesuva is basic when it copies a basic land and is thus not targetable by effects that can't target basic permanents.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Yeah, more protection Q's...
    Quote from whidye
    Okay, I guess I'm a little lost on protection. I thought that once something was targetted if it later gained protection, it wouldn't matter (unless the effect was to destroy it).

    This isn't specific to protection. Consider Advanced Hoverguard. If someone targets it with, say, Terror, and *then* the ability is activated, Terror's target becomes illegal. Since spells and abilities check target legality a second time just as they begin to resolve, the Terror will be countered on resolution. (This is colloquially referred to as "fizzling".)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Yeah, more protection Q's...
    Quote from whidye
    D: damage
    E: enchanted
    B: blocked
    T: targetted

    I was reading some guys story, and it just seemed wrong; so I want to check:

    I attack with pristine angel and my opponent casts boomerang on it. In response I cast Mortify targetting my angel to untap it and make the instants fizzle.

    This works. When you cast the Mortify, the Angel's untap ability triggers. Assuming no further responses, the untap trigger will resolve, then Mortify and Boomerang will be countered as they attempt to resolve.

    --> In reality, I think his angel will be in the GY from mortify since you can legally target it while the untap ability is on the stack. If mortify targetted something else, I think the angel will be in your hand because when it was targetted by the boomerang it was a legal target.

    Is this correct?

    Thanks.
    I have no idea what you mean here.

    EDIT: I see now! Targets are checked at *two* times: Once, when you attempt to play a spell or ability. At this time, if you can't make legal choices for all required targets, the game state reverses. Then they are checked again when the spell or ability begins to resolve. At that time, if *none* of the spell or ability's targets are legal, it is countered.

    In this instance, after the mortify is cast, the stack is:

    top
    Pristine Angel "untap" ability
    Mortify (targeting Pristine Angel)
    Boomerang (targeting Pristine Angel)
    bottom

    Assuming no responses, the top object on the stack resolves and you get:

    top
    Mortify (illegally targeting Pristine Angel)
    Boomerang (illegally targeting Pristine Angel)
    bottom

    Mortify begins to resolve. When it checks its only target, it sees that it is illegal. Since all of its targets are illegal, it is countered.

    Then the same happens with Boomerang.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on spawn tokens and clone
    I make an Avatar token with Ajani Goldmane. I cast Clone and choose the token. Does Clone have the "right" power and toughness?

    The reason I ask is that Ajani seems to make the token, then create a continuous effect that grants the token an ability. If that's true, wouldn't that ability not be a copiable value of the token?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.