2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on poison-life
    Quote from horny_toad123
    so say i have a 6/6 protean hydra in play and my opponent has an ichorclaw myr and he attacks he gets a +2+2 when blocked making him a 3/3 i block with my 6/6 protean hydra would the poison counters be prevented from the ability of proteans 2nd ability "if damage would be dealt to protean hydra,prevent that damage and remove that many counters from it"?

    If a 3-power infect creature tries to deal combat damage to a Protean Hydra with six +1/+1 counters on it, Protean Hydra's replacement effect will prevent that damage.

    The rules describe the process by which damage is dealt very well, so I'll just quote that section here:
    Quote from The Rules »
    119.4a First, damage is dealt, as modified by replacement and prevention effects that interact with damage. (See rule 614, "Replacement Effects," and rule 615, "Prevention Effects.") Abilities that trigger when damage is dealt trigger now and wait to be put on the stack.

    119.4b Next, damage that's been dealt is transformed into its results, as modified by replacement effects that interact with those results (such as life loss or counters).

    119.4c Finally, the damage event occurs.

    Let's apply this to your situation. In 119.4a, we check for "replacement and prevention effects that interact with damage". Protean Hydra's ability produces such an effect. So, starting with the event

    [Ichorclaw Myr deals 3 damage to Protean Hydra]

    we apply the replacement effect and get

    [Remove three +1/+1 counters from Protean Hydra]

    and with no more effects to apply, step 119.4a is done. There is no "damage" left to transform into results, so infect never works its magic in 119.4b. At step 119.4c, the counters are actually removed.

    (Also, as noted by MakoEyesX, infect damage dealt to creatures causes -1/-1 counters to be put on that creature, not poison counters.)
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on poison-life
    Quote from ArrogantSOB
    it's a replacement effect

    It's not a replacement effect, though it behaves very similarly to one. Not picking nits here; this is important.

    Infect, wither, and lifelink are all abilities that change the "result" of damage. Normally, damage dealt to a creature causes that much damage to be marked on that creature; damage dealt to a player causes that player to lose that much life; damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from that planeswalker. These are the damage's "results".

    Infect changes what the damage results in, so that "infect damage" causes a player to get that many poison counters and a creature to get that many -1/-1 counters. It isn't a replacement effect.

    If, for example, there is a prevention effect trying to prevent damage dealt to you, and a creature with infect is about to deal damage to you, infect and that prevention effect are not "competing effects", and there is no choice to be made. The prevention effect will always apply to the damage before it's changed into its result.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Please tell me how it works?
    Quote from Radar73
    if you remove Tarmogoyf Ghoul get only +0/+1

    No. Tarmogoyf's ability is characteristic-defining, so it applies in all zones. Specifically, it applies in the exile zone.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Please tell me how it works?
    At the time that Sutured Ghoul begins to enter the battlefield, while it's still in the graveyard, its replacement effect modifies the event putting it onto the battlefield. You'll exile any number of creature cards from your graveyard. If you exile Sutured Ghoul this way, it won't enter the battlefield at all. If you don't, it will have power and toughness equal to the total power and toughness of the cards you exiled.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on First Strike, Trample, Deathtouch
    It is legal to assign 1 damage to each of the 3/3 and the 5/5, and 8 damage to your opponent. Since Grave Titan has first strike, the blockers will be destroyed before the defending player assigns damage for them. Grave Titan will not take combat damage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cranial Insertion: Going South
    The Liege doesn't say "as a result of" either, it says that a spell or ability an opponent controls must "cause" you to discard it. Apologies if I'm picking nits but I just don't see the connection.
    Posted in: Articles
  • posted a message on names of tokens
    I cast Elvish Promenade. Artificial Evolution targeting the Promenade resolves. Its controller changes Warrior to Elf. Promenade resolves (and I control at least one Elf when it does).

    I know that the type lines of the tokens will essentially be equivalent "Creature - Elf", but what about the names of the tokens? Will they be named "Elf Elf" or just "Elf"?
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cranial Insertion: Going South
    Quote from parinoid
    The rules are pretty clear:

    What does that rule have to do with the text of the Liege?

    I understand that the correct answer to the Dream Halls/Liege question is that the Liege's ability doesn't apply. But I don't understand why it has to do with the word "effect" in the slightest. The reason you don't get the Liege's benefit is that what's "causing" you to discard it is paying the cost of a spell, which isn't a spell or ability an opponent controls, even if what *lets* you pay that cause is an ability of a permanent an opponent controls. The definition of "effect" has nothing to do with it.
    Posted in: Articles
  • posted a message on Is there a rule about 'taking control until end of turn'?
    To clarify the correct answers other have given:

    When Gilded Drake's ability resolves, assuming you make the exchange, it creates a control-changing effect, which will apply in layer 2. Threaten also makes a control-changing effect. When determining who controls the Drake, you'll apply those effects in timestamp order. This means that Threaten's effect "overwrites" the Drake's effect -- but that doesn't mean Drake's effect ends.

    At the cleanup step, when "until end of turn" effects wear off, the Drake's effect will still be around, and without the Threaten's effect to overwrite it, it'll successfully grant control of the Drake to your opponent.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Cranial Insertion: Going South
    Wilt-Leaf Liege doesn't say "effect" anywhere on it.
    Posted in: Articles
  • posted a message on Grave Pact and Shriekmaw
    Quote from Lunaticfringe
    How can it be that Shriekmaw's enter the battlefield trigger takes place at the same time as Grave Pact's goes to [my] graveyard trigger.

    It doesn't.

    Shriekmaw has two enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities. One of them is the ETB-Terror ability. The other is the Evoke-Sac-Me ability. You choose the order in which those abilities go on the stack. If you are playing optimally, you probably stack them like this (choosing a target for ETB-Terror) :


    Assuming no responses, ETB-Terror will resolve destroying the targeted creature, and then Evoke-Sac-Me will resolve. When it does, Grave Pact triggers.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Venser, The Sojourner
    If you have two of Venser's emblems, each time you cast a spell, both emblems will trigger. You'll choose a target for each of them (choosing the same target for both is fine).
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Replication Copying
    Conspire doesn't cause you to cast the copy, so it won't trigger replicate. You'll get one copy.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Flickering Ward rulings
    The oracle text has the answer. Flickering Ward's protection granting ability currently reads:

    "Enchanted creature has protection from the chosen color. This effect doesn't remove Flickering Ward."

    Thus pro-white won't drop the Ward, but it will drop other white Auras.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • posted a message on Emblem Ruling
    Quote from TheJaceBeleren
    nor a color (including colorless).

    "Colorless" is not a color. It is the lack of a color. Any object that doesn't have any colors is colorless. This includes emblems.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings Archives
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.