A New and Exciting Beginning
 
The End of an Era
 
Exclusive: Sword of Truth and Justice
  • 1

    posted a message on beacon of tomorrows
    If any of the beacons resolve they are shuffled back into its owners library as part of the resolution of the spell and will not go any where near your graveyard.

    It is only going to be in your graveyard after being cast if your opponent counters it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 4

    posted a message on Uhh I think wizards has a problem on their hand (Ixalan)
    Quote from krishnath »

    Both Theft and Industrial Sabotage are pretty damn easy to get criminal convictions in when there is abundance of evidence. The thief even made the bright decision to post the proof on the internet for all to see.

    Only if we disbelieve the story that the person who posted the sheet purchased it from someone else and then put it on line for all to see. Otherwise all WOTC have is details of where and when it was printed. And with out the co-operation of the individual who posted it that is all they are going to have. Meaning that unless they are willing to transport there printing away from the facility or get the printing company to disipline an entire shift of people who might not have been working when the sheet actually left the facility there is still a gaping hole in their supply chain waiting for something else to drop out of and for someone else to get hold of and be put online. A hole WOTC will still no nothing about


    They guy, when caught (and he will get caught, the genius posted the leaks to both Imgur and Reddit), will be facing down a very hard sentence. The average jail time in the US for theft is 10 years, industrial sabotage 20. The guy could be facing down 30 years of jail time for 15 minutes of internet fame. He is Fubar'ed, he just doesn't know it yet.


    Stop dealing in absolutes when you can't know what WOTC is planning or if you do stop releasing information that should not be released into the wild. The bottom line is none of us know what is going to happen and whilst a heavy sentance is possible, going off history and how WOTC have acted in similar matters in the past, namely the New Phyrexia leak and Rancorred elf, it is far more likely that WOTC is going to attempt to take this through the civil courts first with the hope of co-operation and a very tight NDA so they can close the hole, with criminal charges being the last resort.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • 2

    posted a message on Returning player (after 17 years) - major rules change crashcourse needed
    Most of the game skeleton is the same as back in invasion though there have been a couple of big changes.

    Combat damage no longer uses the stack. It is dealt and assigned as a single game action at the start of each combat damage step. You can't use Mog fanatic to kill an x/2 any more, and if you want to regenerate a creature you have to activate the ability in the declare blockers step. Other than that the Stack is the same as it was. Spells and abilites go on there and resolve in LIFO order.

    There have been a number of terminology changes for zones and actions.
    Zones:
    In play is now the battlefield
    Removed from the Game is now the Exile zone any thing that refered to Remove from the game now says it exiles it.

    Actions
    You play lands, Cast spells and activate abilities. Functionally this doesnn't make much difference it just clears up some of the language used.

    The legendary supertype only cares about permanents that you control, both players can control a Aboshan, Cephalid Emperor. For Planeswalkers there is a similar rule that cares about the subtype where there legendary rule still cares about the name.

    Mana burn does not exist any more.

    That should be the major ones.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 1

    posted a message on Spellskite weirdness [SOLVED]
    To general points to kick off with. A single game object can only be targetted once per instance of the world target on the spell or ability. Secondly any spell or ability is legal target for the ability on spellskite it just might not do anything when it comes to resolve.

    Quote from stokpile »

    1. I cast electrolyze dealing 1 damage to skite and 1 to the player.

    Electrolyze as cast here needs to seperate targets so both the player and the spellskite will be dealt damage


    2. I use Kolaghan's command choosing shatter mode on the skite and shock mode on the player.


    Both modes can be changed to the spellskite so the player won't be dealt any damage


    3. I target a green creature with go for the throat.

    go for the throat can't target an artifact creature so when the ability on spellskite comes to resolve it won't do anything and the original target will be destroyed


    4. I target 5 different artifacts with by force including the spellskite.

    Since the spellskite is already targetted by the spell your opponent can't redirect the spell away from any of the other 4 artifacts. All 5 will be destroyed.

    5. I target an enchantment with disenchant.

    Disenchant is not a modal spell so the spellskite will remain a legal target. Its going to be destroyed.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Deathtouch wall making multiple blocks!
    Quote from SteveMont »
    Hi all! I'm working on a Deathtouch Pauper deck and have some questions about a potential combo I think might work in an Orzhov or Abzan build...

    So if I played a Wall of Glare and enchanted with a Touch of Moonglove giving it Deathtouch and 1 power, when Wall-o-Glare blocks does it deal that one damage back to the creature it blocks or not because it is a defender? My guess is that it can as long as it's technically blocking and not attacking, but then do I decide how that damage is dealt among attackers or is that based on the attacking players choice of damage order? Lets say x2 3/3 whatevers attack and I block both with the enchanted Wall. Do I kill one of them with one power of Deathtouch damage and then survive after blocking the extra 3 damage? Or do I trade with one and the other survives? Sorry I'm sure this is super creature combat 101 stuff.


    Defender on stops a creature from being declared as a an attacker. It does not stop it from dealing damage. You can block any number of creatures and line them up to receive damage in the order you chose. The first one in line will be dealt 1 point of damage and most likely kill it. At the same time your opponents attacking creatures will deal damage as he assigned it most likely destroying your wall.


    Then my other question and kind of the theme for my deck: what if it also had First Strike? Say my wall has the Touch of Moonglove and also a Cartouche of Solidarity... now it's a 2/6 Defender with Deathtouch, First Strike, and can block multiples... I'm guessing I can take out two of the attackers with 1 damage each, but then how many additional can he block before dying? Do I choose which attackers to kill? Does my choice of those targets influence how much damage my Wall will have to deal with?

    Sorry such a long post, thanks if you made it to the end and double thanks if you feel like responding Smile


    The only difference that first strike does is create an extra combat damage step where creatures with first strike and double strike deal damage before creatures with out first strike or double strike.

    In this case it would mean that 2 creatures would each be dealt 1 point of damage and be destroyed in the first strike combat damage step so won't be arround to deal damage in the normal combat damage step.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 2

    posted a message on Question about the planes or regions of the early sets (ABU, Legends, Ice Age, Mirage, Tempest etc)
    I wish I could. But, I am terrified of clicking on any links because of the risk of seeing any spoilers or in-depth details of any kind.

    As I explained in the original post (especially the parts highlighted in bold font), I DO NOT want to accidentally see anything about the storyline or mid-level or high-level specifics of any kind.


    So you don't want to write fan fiction then. You just want to write fiction using names from MTG regardless of where they show up.

    I just wanted to know the bare minimum of what the names and formats of the early locations were. Like, whether they were on a single planet or multiple planets or multiple universes or what, and, what the names of the regions/planets were, if they had name, and which ones were offset by time from which ones.

    I didn't want to know anything else other than that though, as that would ruin the whole writing experiment I'm trying to do.

    Again if you want to write coherent fan fiction you can not do this. I am going to give you the same advice I give to people who turn up here proposing assorted rules changes. Don't bother unless you are willing to do the grond work. And for writing fan fiction that is learning what the current story is and working out where and what you slip in to the current storyline with out it not making sense.

    Anyway, I think I know almost enough now, as it seems that most of these early sets took place on the same planet, which is what I was trying to find out, without risking seeing the spoilers I would've inevitably seen if I had just looked it up on some website.


    Yes the same planet but in vastly different areas and at different times. The current History of Dominaria is of about similar length to that of civilised history on our rock. If you don't know what you are doing it would very easy to make very large errors like having Confucius and Napoleon wandering around the same place at the same time with out any form of time travel.

    I guess ideally it would be best if someone was able to just list from Alpha through Exodus the name of the plane/planet/continent and time-era of each set in the format of the example I provided a couple posts up above. But even without something like that, I think maybe I already have enough to go off of from Kahedron's answers to start writing some stories. So, thanks for the info everyone, this will come in handy.


    No you don't. And you won't until you ditch the I don't want spoilers/storyline information schtick you are displaying. Do your ground work first then start writing the fiction it will be a lot better in the end.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 1

    posted a message on Question about the planes or regions of the early sets (ABU, Legends, Ice Age, Mirage, Tempest etc)
    For the recent planes like Innistrad and Kaladesh we have only seen small parts of the them and in similar time periods.

    For others like Mirrodin and Zendikar whilst we have and idea of what the whole plane looks like the story and the cards only concentrate on a couple of areas and the same time period. Other areas and times are left for when/if they return to the plane.

    As to the physical lay out of the planes it depends on what Storyline needs it to be.

    Speficially for Dominaria all the action takes place on a planet that bares the name Dominaria all the blocks that take place there all take place on that planet just at various different times or in different places. For an idea of its history check out the Wiki article for it here.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 1

    posted a message on Should we avoid buying masters sets to force reprints in conspiracy, commander or std?
    Quote from draftguy2 »
    Quote from Lord Seth »
    Quote from mtgsalaccount »
    Quote from Lord Seth »
    No, you can't.

    You can, literally, and very very very easily, which is exactly what writers get paid a salary to do. You think every single card WoTC comes up with is the only idea they ever had for that set? There's thousands of more ideas behind the scenes backlogged, but they choose the ones that are most likely to maximize their profit with the current state of the game.
    When you have a Lightning Bolt, it isn't really possible to make all of the direct damage spells as good. You can try making variations, like one that deals 4 damage to a creature but 2 to a player, but then one still tops it all.
    1


    I disagree with you its not hard at all, Here let me provide you with some

    New bolt
    R
    Sorcery
    Deals 1 damaged to target creature or player, Deals 1 damaged to target creature or player, Deals 1 damaged to target creature or player

    New Bolt
    R
    Sorcery
    Deals 3 damaged to target creature or player, Gain 1 energy

    New Bolt
    R
    Deals 3 damage to target creature and 3 damage to target walker

    New bolt
    R
    Sorcery
    Deals 3 damaged to target creature or player Scry 1

    New bolt
    R
    Deals 1 damage to all creatures OR deals 3 damaged to each opponent.

    New Bolt
    R
    Deals 2 damaged to each player for each nonbasic land they have in play

    New Bolt
    R
    Deals X damaged to target permanent where X is its total converted casting cost. or 2 damaged to all players

    New bolt
    R
    Deals 6 damaged to target creature, new bolt can target creatures with hexproof or shroud.

    New bolt
    R
    Deals 4 damage to target player.


    New bolts all playable alongside original bolt.


    Nope. New Bolts most of which completely outclass the one true bolt to an almost laughable extent. If some those got printed there would be no point in using the original lightning bolt which very eloquantly proves the point that Lord Soth has been making.

    If the baseline spells like terror, wrath of god and lightning bolt are to efficient any new version of them needs to do something rather shiny for the new cards to get a look in. It is far better to have a lower base line so variants don't have to be so rediculous yet still provide a reason to use them instead of the baseline version of the spell.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • 1

    posted a message on Pale Recluse question
    Forest cycling, wizard cycling and any other type cycling is still a cycling varient so will trigger abilities of cards like Horror of the Broken Lands and Astral Slide.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • 1

    posted a message on Collective Brutality question
    As with all spells with modes you declare which mode you want to use as you are casting the spell so your opponent will know exactly what the spell is going to when they come to respond.

    The abbrieviated method of casting a spell is
    Declare it and put in the stack
    Declare which modes you wish to use
    Declare any relevant targets
    Work out the cost of the spell
    Pay for the spell.

    Only once all of the above has been done is the spell finally considered cast and your opponent has a chance to respond.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.