2019 Holiday Exchange!
A New and Exciting Beginning
The End of an Era
  • posted a message on [The Crafters] are trapped in Limbo...
    Hug Real Life alqways comes first Dox. Go do what you meed to do. If/when you come back we will still be here. Hug
    Posted in: Clans
  • posted a message on WOTC adds new department to ensure less mistakes happen.
    Quote from drmarkb »
    Printing cards like harsh mentor and deliberately making them NOT hit PWs was practically trolling by WOTC.

    I take you mean not firing when a loyalty ability fires? If so that is understandable as it would then be too powerful against planeswalkers. It would effectively become a 2 mana answer to every planeswalker that your opponent played as as you can then redirect the damage to the planeswalker that triggered the ability and effectively stop it from ever gaining loyalty counters as very few have loyalty abilities that put more than 3 counters on the planeswalker when activated and it would also almost guarentee that it would only be able to use its minus ability the once as you would have already removed the loyalty counters to pay for the ability then have your opponent redirect the damage to it to remove 2 more.
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Spectra Ward + Concerted Effort
    Quote from Zcranel »
    Doesn't granting protection to something only apply to effects from other players?

    No, if a creature as protection from a certain quality it has protection from every thing that meets that criteria regardless of who controls it.
    If you control a creature with protection from white you can't target it with holy strength and if it already has holy strength on it the aura will be removed and sent to the graveyard next time SBA are checked.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Pale Recluse question
    Forest cycling, wizard cycling and any other type cycling is still a cycling varient so will trigger abilities of cards like Horror of the Broken Lands and Astral Slide.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on WOTC adds new department to ensure less mistakes happen.
    Quote from Yonekura »
    Quote from leslak »
    wasn't copy cat combo a know isue that they knew but left in the set anyways? I always had the impression that they knew it but did't predict that people would just made a ETB deck with the combo in it ( like, we got some pretty decent hate in amonkhet, a set that was alread in priting before the cat was spoiled )

    Here can see where they claimed they missed the combo.

    Although, what I find funny is the promo of Saheeli's Artistry. Salheei appears to be riding a Felidar Guardian.

    Not to sure why you are surprised at this. It is pretty much the same thing that happened with Skullclamp. Development did not do enough testing with it to stop it being degenerate until after the full set got sent to print. But it got enough interest that it was put into the nuts and bolts theme deck. Skullclamp was even called out as one of the pieces of equipment that you should be looking to tutor out and get onto the battlefield as soon as possible
    Posted in: The Rumor Mill
  • posted a message on Commit // Memory and flashback
    Jace just allows you to cast the spell from and unusual place and then send it to a different place when it leaves the battlefield. It does not alter the spells type or the permissions for which it can be cast.

    You may cast commit from your graveyard at any point at which you could cast and instant.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Wither plus deathtouch
    The 6/6 will get assigned and dealt 1 point of damage, since the creature dealing the damage has wither it will be done in the form of a -1/-1 counter.

    Since the attacking creature is indestructible deathtouch won't be able to destroy the creature.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Necropotence ability timing
    You are incorrect.

    Presuming you have retained priority and put all the activated abilities on the stack before you give priority back to your opponent, you will have already lost 8 life by the time the disenchant has gone on the stack and will still exile 8 cards.

    The payment of 1 life is part of the cost of the ability so is paid as you activate the ability and put it on the stack this happens before your opponent has the chance to cast any spells or take any other game action. Also once an ability has triggered or activated it is completely independant of its source so will still continue to resolve if the source is removed from the battlefield for any reason. If your opponent wants to stop you from exiling the cards he needs to deal with the ability directly with something like stifle to clear out 1 of the abilities or if he wishes to deal with them all end the turn with something like time stop.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on does gideon of the trials trigger thalia's lieutenant?
    When you activate the animation ability on any Gideon or similar permanent like a man land it does not trigger any ETB abilities as there are no zone changes involved. All that is happening is a permanent on the battlefield looks different to it did before the ability resolved.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Deathrender and Soulshift
    Since you control both triggers you get to choose the order in which they go on the stack. If you put the trigger from Deathrender on the stack first you will return a creature card to your hand with Soulshift before deathrender tells you to put a creature card in your hand on to the battlefield.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Question on card combinations (Isochron Sceptor)
    Isochron Scepter creates a copy of the imprinted card and then has you cast it. So it will cause all relevant on cast triggers to fire.

    You will be able to untap gelectrode and copy the Izzet charm with the guildmage.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Collective Brutality question
    As with all spells with modes you declare which mode you want to use as you are casting the spell so your opponent will know exactly what the spell is going to when they come to respond.

    The abbrieviated method of casting a spell is
    Declare it and put in the stack
    Declare which modes you wish to use
    Declare any relevant targets
    Work out the cost of the spell
    Pay for the spell.

    Only once all of the above has been done is the spell finally considered cast and your opponent has a chance to respond.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Need a ruling clarification please!!
    The judge was correct in his ruling.

    The only ways an indestructible creature can die are if it is sacrificed or its toughness is reduced to 0. Normal damage whether it is caused by an ability like mogg fanatic or combat damage will never kill an indestructible creature. Instead it is just marked against that creature until the clean up step.

    If you want to kill Rhonas you need to reduce its toughness to 0 either by multiple grasp of darkness like effects or damage caused by a source with either wither or infect which deal damage in the form of -1/-1 counters. Regular damage will not destroy it.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Was wondering how Supernatual Stamia works with Gearlf's Messanger.
    You get to choose. Since you control both triggered abilities you get to choose the order in which they hit the stack.
    If you put the trigger from supernatural stamina on the stack first Undying will return the messenger with a +1/+1 counter and the ability from supernatural stamina will resolve doing nothing as it has lost track of the messenger.

    Conversely if the triggered ability from undying on the stack is put on the stack first supernatural stamina will return the creature and it won't get a +1/+1 counter as the undying ability will have lost track of the creature when it comes to resolve.
    Posted in: Magic Rulings
  • posted a message on Why is there so little warning for bannings now?
    Quote from Cainsson »
    Frankly, I blame MaRo, Stoddard and the FFL.
    When was the last time we had a Standard enviroment without "mistakes"? ODY-ONS block?
    At some point Hasbro has to start noticing it's not the cards, but the people making the cards, who need to go.

    So the Era where they failed to put together a deck combining Astral Slide and Lightning rift. Which like Valakut got put together out in the wild within weeks if not days of the set being spoiled?

    There has never been a golden of MTG where Design and Development has spotted every concievable deck or interaction and been able to plan for it. They are always trying to get the most balanced format but during the time a set is in the Future Future league they are attempting to fix problems we never see. Most of the time they get it right but occasionally they do drop the ball and are usually very good at admitting it.
    Posted in: Magic General
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.