Quote from asmallcat »
Would it have been so broken to just give you the mindslaver effect without giving the opponent and extra turn after? I guess it's pretty backbreaking anyway, but if you successfully case a 9-10 drop you SHOULD win the game.
702.95a Overload is a keyword that represents two static abilities that function while the spell with overload is on the stack. Overload [cost] means “You may choose to pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost” and “If you chose to pay this spell’s overload cost, change its text by replacing all instances of the word ‘target’ with the word ‘each.’” Using the overload ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.